Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
A tasty nutritious muffin. Used dark chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Made these today. They came out pretty good. Even my picky husband liked them. I did have to make a few changes based on what I had on hand (quick oats, dark chocolate chips, white whole wheat flour, and 2% milk), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KathrynSmo98
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Tasted and looked good but stuck to the cupcake wrappers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I think it's a good recipe to customize in your own way. Which is what I did. I used egg whites only & light almond milk which I increased by a little for more moisture. I put some baby carrots through the food processor and used them instead of applesauce because I didn't have any. I also used a combination of gluten free, unbleached white and flax meal for the flour. Used 1/2 raw honey & 1/2 brown sugar. I added a little cinnamon, nutmeg, a couple tablespoons of melted Earth Balance and a pinch of salt. Also, per other suggestions, a teaspoon of vanilla. Honestly, the thing I liked the least was the chocolate. The bites with multiple chocolate. Chips are sooooo sweet! I'm not a huge fan of chocolate like some people but I made these mostly for some guests I'm having. Maybe the tiny chocolate chips and less of them? I believe I would prefer these with raisins or dates instead of chocolate chips. I will make them again but will try raisins and maybe some pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe. It was good except there was a baking powder after taste. I did it according to the recipe. I will be making these again but next time I will use half the baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
They are amazing! Now, the best recommendation I can give is that you use a very ripe banana. Trust me when I tell you that the texture is much more moist/tasteful when you use a ripe one rather than a regular yellow/green one. I also add almonds shavings or cranberries depending if I have those ingredients in stock. You can always add something to them. I usually warm them up in the oven or microwave because they do tend to get a little hard the day after. I have them as snacks or for breakfast and I accompany them with some peanut butter or greek yogurt. My husband makes me bake these every two weeks mainly because they're low cal and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmandaT
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made these for my husband's birthday and he was in love. They're so gooey and yummy, they almost feel like you're eating a cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I found these to be pretty dense. Flavour wasn't bad but they didn't blow me away. Enjoyed trying the recipe though. Thanks Nichole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I also changed a few things. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of applesauce. I know it's less healthy, but I had butter in the house and not applesauce. I didn't measure the banana, but I used two very large bananas - I think it was closer to 1 3/4 cups. I also added 1/2 cup walnuts, 2 tsp vanilla and a 1 tsp salt. Instead of rolled oats I used quick oats. I did 1 cup whole wheat (then ran out) and used 1/2 cup all purpose white. They came out totally amazing, very moist, super yum - the kids (ages 5 and 7) each ate two straight out of the over and were still asking for me. I think my husband ate four! With the changes I made, it ended up being 18 muffins. I also don't fill the cups up too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I just made these and had one fresh out of the oven! I made a couple changes to the recipe after reading some reviews. I added 1/2 cup of milk (I used organic plain soy milk) and instead of the 1/2 cup of sugar I used 1/4 cup of honey. I cut down the sugar to make these healthier. I also used instant oats because that is what I had on hand. I ended up having enough batter for 14 muffins (may have been the extra milk). They tasted yummy fresh out of the oven. The chocolate chips add just the right amount of sweet. I put the recipe into my fitness pal and each muffin came out to 144 calories per muffin (26 carbs, 2 grams of fat, 4 grams of protein, 10 grams of sugar...still a bit much sugar for my taste) with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States