Healthy Baked Steel Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I know its weird but add 1/4 lb of diced country ham and a handful of dry roasted peanuts and maybe a little more salt. Cook it a bit longer too. Savory and sweet is a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Heinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is very filling, but I needed to add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Just OK. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Salsman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We love this. I do like to add more moisture (bananas, applesauce) for our taste. This morning's variation substituted pumpkin for the bananas, craisins for raisins, a teaspoon of cardamon for one of cinnamon, and included chopped almonds--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is not sweet at all. Great for toddlers. Add sugar if making for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was ok. In reading the recipe I could tell I wanted a little more flavor so I added shredded coconut and Amber grade Maple syrup. Even with those extras it was just ok. It's not a cake, to heavy. It's not a bar, too light and moist. It's like sweet oat quiche. I don't think leaving it over night helps much. I suspect if one baked it right after combining the mixtures together, it might be more cake like. I think leaving sit over night loses what ever raising abilities the baking powder had. I am going keep looking for something better to use steel cut oats in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N5232P
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used whole milk because that's all we had, but we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
There are easier recipies out there.. Added about a third of a cup of brown sugar could really taste the egg flavor, still easy to have on hand for a fast breakfast, did not like waiting seven hours before I could bake it:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Took 75 minutes before it was "dry" enough to cut properly. It was still quite oatmeal like - I wouldn't describe it as like a cake as other reviewers have. Overall it tasted just like baked steel cut oats with some spices - nice, but not sure it's worth the extra time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States