Healthy and Delicious Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
My hubby like the taste of the crust, I like the cherries. Next time I'm going to add the water a little at a time. I feel that the crust needed to be a little crisper so add 1/8 to a 1/4 cup chopped nut may be in order then bake it oven first. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
4 stars just because it is very yummy. The crust is awesome and can be used for so much more. HOWEVER.... Made as directed, it is very very liquidy... made the crust on the bottom mushy and definitely didn't keep the shape of a pie. Still tastes great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themainmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I didn't have the full two cups of cherries, probably only 1 cup and it turned out a little bland, but I wish I had read some of the reviews first to spice it up a little more and still keep it real healthy! I love the simplicity of it though! Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcookamy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
So here's what I did. First of all i'm gluten-free so I just substituted GF flour which was the only thing that needed to be changed. Like others, I pre-baked the crust and cooked the cherries on the stove with the added water and GF flour plus a little vanilla extract and cinnamon. I admit I used butter instead of margarine but I added flaxseed to the crust :) I baked little minis in cupcake wrappers with extra dough crumbled on top - they turned out wonderfully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This was a delicious treat. However, after the suggested cooking time, it wasn't done. I ended up cooking it for over an hour. After that, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I don't think I'm going to save this one...I think I'd rather have the calories & fat, etc. It wasn't terrible, but there are better ways to eat cherries!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious! I used instant steel cut oats, and let them soak in 4 tbls. water while I pitted the cherries. Added 2 tbls. flour to the sugar that I put in the cherries. I did add 1/4 c. wheat germ to the crust, added another tsp vanilla, and held out about 1/2 c. to sprinkle on the top. Pre baked the crust while the oven was preheating, and baked it for 13 mins at 425, then lowered the temp to 300 and baked another 10 mins. It's like a cherry crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I love this crust, I use it for more than just cherry pie just by altering a bit (white sugar instead of brown, adding nuts, etc). One thing I did to change this recipe was I cooked the cherries over the stovetop for a few minutes and added some almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwinS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
May 2010; Easy and delicious---see notes on my tweaks. Use Largest pie pan so filling doesn't cook over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
First time I'd ever made any kind of "pie", and I had sacks of fresh cherries that needed to get used up, so I didn't expect perfect results. However what came out of the oven was pretty darn tasty! Like others said, it may be more of a tart or crumble than a "real" pie, but because it was so easy, and tasted fine, I give this 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States