Healthy and Delicious Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I loved this recipe! My husband and I try to eat healthy foods all the time, and this is our new favorite. I doubled the crust recipe to make a top crust as well. I also heated the cherries with 3/4 cup of Splenda (sugar substitute) and 4 Tbl. of organic flour to a boil in a pot to thicken up a bit before cooking. We made an apple pie in addition to the cherry, which worked just as well. The cooking time was a bit more than 12 minutes, but worth it. 5 stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica W.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious! I used instant steel cut oats, and let them soak in 4 tbls. water while I pitted the cherries. Added 2 tbls. flour to the sugar that I put in the cherries. I did add 1/4 c. wheat germ to the crust, added another tsp vanilla, and held out about 1/2 c. to sprinkle on the top. Pre baked the crust while the oven was preheating, and baked it for 13 mins at 425, then lowered the temp to 300 and baked another 10 mins. It's like a cherry crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
So here's what I did. First of all i'm gluten-free so I just substituted GF flour which was the only thing that needed to be changed. Like others, I pre-baked the crust and cooked the cherries on the stove with the added water and GF flour plus a little vanilla extract and cinnamon. I admit I used butter instead of margarine but I added flaxseed to the crust :) I baked little minis in cupcake wrappers with extra dough crumbled on top - they turned out wonderfully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
May 2010; Easy and delicious---see notes on my tweaks. Use Largest pie pan so filling doesn't cook over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I love this crust, I use it for more than just cherry pie just by altering a bit (white sugar instead of brown, adding nuts, etc). One thing I did to change this recipe was I cooked the cherries over the stovetop for a few minutes and added some almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwinS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
4 stars just because it is very yummy. The crust is awesome and can be used for so much more. HOWEVER.... Made as directed, it is very very liquidy... made the crust on the bottom mushy and definitely didn't keep the shape of a pie. Still tastes great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themainmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I didn't have the full two cups of cherries, probably only 1 cup and it turned out a little bland, but I wish I had read some of the reviews first to spice it up a little more and still keep it real healthy! I love the simplicity of it though! Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcookamy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I just made this recipe today. Definitely very delicious and easy to make! I like the fact that its not too sweet. Thanks Anne. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexicalann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe, but I would classify it more as a cross between a pie and a cobbler. While the crust makes the pie very healthy, it's not quite the same as a traditional pie crust in taste or texture. I would like to try this next time as small, individual pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
It’s a very good recipe and just what I needed to use up my cherries before they went bad. It’s easy to make and has a nice flavor, the hardest part is getting the cherries ready. Because of the reviews I did precook the crust a little and I also added 2 tablespoons of flour to my cherries and sugar to keep it from being to watery….worked out well. Thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States