Healthy and Delicious Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made several changes to this recipe to make it a 5 star recipe. For that reason I give it 4 stars. The changes I made were: I pre-baked the crust for 8 minutes, I cooked the filling on the stove top and added 1 tsp. almond extract, 2 TBS water and 2 TBS flour to thicken. 2 cups of filling was clearly not going to be enough, so I tossed in 1 cup of blueberries just before pouring into the pie shell. I also made extra crust and crumbled it over top of the pie before baking for about 12 minutes. I would suggest greasing the pie plate or using cooking oil spray, as the pie was difficult to remove from the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I loved this recipe! My husband and I try to eat healthy foods all the time, and this is our new favorite. I doubled the crust recipe to make a top crust as well. I also heated the cherries with 3/4 cup of Splenda (sugar substitute) and 4 Tbl. of organic flour to a boil in a pot to thicken up a bit before cooking. We made an apple pie in addition to the cherry, which worked just as well. The cooking time was a bit more than 12 minutes, but worth it. 5 stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica W.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious! I used instant steel cut oats, and let them soak in 4 tbls. water while I pitted the cherries. Added 2 tbls. flour to the sugar that I put in the cherries. I did add 1/4 c. wheat germ to the crust, added another tsp vanilla, and held out about 1/2 c. to sprinkle on the top. Pre baked the crust while the oven was preheating, and baked it for 13 mins at 425, then lowered the temp to 300 and baked another 10 mins. It's like a cherry crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of the crust with the cherries. I read the reviews and let the crust bake in the oven while it was pre-heating. By the time the oven was heated the crust was crunchy, then added the cherries and had to cook about 20 minutes. It was very watery/ runny so I suggest pre-thickening the cherries. But all in all, it had a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This pie didn't work for me at all. After the suggested baking time, the crust wasn't cooked at all, so I continued to bake it little by little, and finally... the sugar and natural juices of the cherries started carmelizing, yet the crust was still uncooked. I ended up having to throw it out. if anyone else braves this one, let me know how it turns out. I had a really hard time finding any pie recipe that called for fresh cherries, so I really wanted this one to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
So here's what I did. First of all i'm gluten-free so I just substituted GF flour which was the only thing that needed to be changed. Like others, I pre-baked the crust and cooked the cherries on the stove with the added water and GF flour plus a little vanilla extract and cinnamon. I admit I used butter instead of margarine but I added flaxseed to the crust :) I baked little minis in cupcake wrappers with extra dough crumbled on top - they turned out wonderfully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Had a fresh healthy taste--not overly sweet or laden with fat. This is more like an inverted cobbler/crisp. Definitely pre-cook the crust. Also, after reading the other reviews I added 2 tbs tapioca to reduce the wateriness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
It’s a very good recipe and just what I needed to use up my cherries before they went bad. It’s easy to make and has a nice flavor, the hardest part is getting the cherries ready. Because of the reviews I did precook the crust a little and I also added 2 tablespoons of flour to my cherries and sugar to keep it from being to watery….worked out well. Thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe, but I would classify it more as a cross between a pie and a cobbler. While the crust makes the pie very healthy, it's not quite the same as a traditional pie crust in taste or texture. I would like to try this next time as small, individual pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I don't think I'm going to save this one...I think I'd rather have the calories & fat, etc. It wasn't terrible, but there are better ways to eat cherries!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States