Healthy and Delicious Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made several changes to this recipe to make it a 5 star recipe. For that reason I give it 4 stars. The changes I made were: I pre-baked the crust for 8 minutes, I cooked the filling on the stove top and added 1 tsp. almond extract, 2 TBS water and 2 TBS flour to thicken. 2 cups of filling was clearly not going to be enough, so I tossed in 1 cup of blueberries just before pouring into the pie shell. I also made extra crust and crumbled it over top of the pie before baking for about 12 minutes. I would suggest greasing the pie plate or using cooking oil spray, as the pie was difficult to remove from the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
It’s a very good recipe and just what I needed to use up my cherries before they went bad. It’s easy to make and has a nice flavor, the hardest part is getting the cherries ready. Because of the reviews I did precook the crust a little and I also added 2 tablespoons of flour to my cherries and sugar to keep it from being to watery….worked out well. Thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I just made this recipe today. Definitely very delicious and easy to make! I like the fact that its not too sweet. Thanks Anne. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexicalann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Had a fresh healthy taste--not overly sweet or laden with fat. This is more like an inverted cobbler/crisp. Definitely pre-cook the crust. Also, after reading the other reviews I added 2 tbs tapioca to reduce the wateriness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of the crust with the cherries. I read the reviews and let the crust bake in the oven while it was pre-heating. By the time the oven was heated the crust was crunchy, then added the cherries and had to cook about 20 minutes. It was very watery/ runny so I suggest pre-thickening the cherries. But all in all, it had a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I loved the crust for this recipe! I agree that it was a little runny, but still very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah A. Conley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe, but I would classify it more as a cross between a pie and a cobbler. While the crust makes the pie very healthy, it's not quite the same as a traditional pie crust in taste or texture. I would like to try this next time as small, individual pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I loved this recipe! My husband and I try to eat healthy foods all the time, and this is our new favorite. I doubled the crust recipe to make a top crust as well. I also heated the cherries with 3/4 cup of Splenda (sugar substitute) and 4 Tbl. of organic flour to a boil in a pot to thicken up a bit before cooking. We made an apple pie in addition to the cherry, which worked just as well. The cooking time was a bit more than 12 minutes, but worth it. 5 stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica W.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This pie didn't work for me at all. After the suggested baking time, the crust wasn't cooked at all, so I continued to bake it little by little, and finally... the sugar and natural juices of the cherries started carmelizing, yet the crust was still uncooked. I ended up having to throw it out. if anyone else braves this one, let me know how it turns out. I had a really hard time finding any pie recipe that called for fresh cherries, so I really wanted this one to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States