Healthy and Delicious Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made several changes to this recipe to make it a 5 star recipe. For that reason I give it 4 stars. The changes I made were: I pre-baked the crust for 8 minutes, I cooked the filling on the stove top and added 1 tsp. almond extract, 2 TBS water and 2 TBS flour to thicken. 2 cups of filling was clearly not going to be enough, so I tossed in 1 cup of blueberries just before pouring into the pie shell. I also made extra crust and crumbled it over top of the pie before baking for about 12 minutes. I would suggest greasing the pie plate or using cooking oil spray, as the pie was difficult to remove from the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ChickadeeD
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
It’s a very good recipe and just what I needed to use up my cherries before they went bad. It’s easy to make and has a nice flavor, the hardest part is getting the cherries ready. Because of the reviews I did precook the crust a little and I also added 2 tablespoons of flour to my cherries and sugar to keep it from being to watery….worked out well. Thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I just made this recipe today. Definitely very delicious and easy to make! I like the fact that its not too sweet. Thanks Anne. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexicalann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Had a fresh healthy taste--not overly sweet or laden with fat. This is more like an inverted cobbler/crisp. Definitely pre-cook the crust. Also, after reading the other reviews I added 2 tbs tapioca to reduce the wateriness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of the crust with the cherries. I read the reviews and let the crust bake in the oven while it was pre-heating. By the time the oven was heated the crust was crunchy, then added the cherries and had to cook about 20 minutes. It was very watery/ runny so I suggest pre-thickening the cherries. But all in all, it had a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I loved the crust for this recipe! I agree that it was a little runny, but still very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah A. Conley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe, but I would classify it more as a cross between a pie and a cobbler. While the crust makes the pie very healthy, it's not quite the same as a traditional pie crust in taste or texture. I would like to try this next time as small, individual pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I loved this recipe! My husband and I try to eat healthy foods all the time, and this is our new favorite. I doubled the crust recipe to make a top crust as well. I also heated the cherries with 3/4 cup of Splenda (sugar substitute) and 4 Tbl. of organic flour to a boil in a pot to thicken up a bit before cooking. We made an apple pie in addition to the cherry, which worked just as well. The cooking time was a bit more than 12 minutes, but worth it. 5 stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica W.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This pie didn't work for me at all. After the suggested baking time, the crust wasn't cooked at all, so I continued to bake it little by little, and finally... the sugar and natural juices of the cherries started carmelizing, yet the crust was still uncooked. I ended up having to throw it out. if anyone else braves this one, let me know how it turns out. I had a really hard time finding any pie recipe that called for fresh cherries, so I really wanted this one to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States