Healthier Taco Seasoning I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I'm not sure why this is necessarily any healthier than the original version of this recipe simply because it uses fresh garlic. That said, I liked this recipe expressly because of the fresh garlic. I backed off on the black pepper, using only half what was called for. Once again, better safe than sorry. You can always add more if need be, but you can't take it out. Used this for Quick and Easy Shrimp Fajitas, also from this site. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This recipe was very good. We use turkey instead of beef and it gives great flavor. Just enough spice to suit everybody at table. (Including two kids) not too hot for them. Will use alot. Used white pepper instead of black, and sweer paprika. Hickory smoked sea salt gave hint of smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Worth making. So good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
enjoyed it. thank you. good flavor and good base for tweeking somewhat. highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I love the start with fresh garlic and sea salt. That must have been what I was missing. I added oregano and cajun seasoning with no msg instead of all the separate spices, since that's what I have on hand today. Perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Jerry Cochrun

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This easily slid into our nacho night. It's not as bold as the seasoning packs but it's enough to carry the message. I will continue this method and let up on the salt next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Great recipe, thank you for sharing :) I definitely recommend giving this recipe a try ! I followed the recipe as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natashacooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I used California Chili Pepper in this recipe (it's got the same flavor as regular chili powder but it's half as hot), mexican oregano and I cut the salt back by half. This was seasoning for my Creamy Salsa Verde Crockpot Chicken--it worked out great! Next time, I'd double the oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Easy to make seasoning. Little cheaper than store brands, however in a pinch when you need taco seasoning and don't want to run to the store...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaleo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States