Healthier Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Very good but next time I will definitely double the tomato sauce/Italian seasoning mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tonyf
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I used my left over spaghetti meat sauce , blanched the peppers before stuffing and added chilli powder and crushed pepper flakes along with fresh ground cumin. Placed in crock pan and covered with1 can tomato soup with I can water. Sprinkled grated Parmesan and cheddar cheese and baked covered with tinfoil at 350 for an hour. Sprinkled more white cheddar and broiled for another half hour. Served in sauce topped with a dollop of plain yogurt and sprinkled with fresh cut scallions. The house never smelled better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Loved this!! We don't eat red meat, so the only substitution I made was to use lean ground turkey in place of the ground meat. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is really good. I mean really good and I'm pretty critical. Great recipe and a hit with family. This is my second time preparing. First time I followed recipe pretty closely. Good as posted. Like most, I tweaked tonight. First, used ground bison (Costco). Little different taste. Liberal use of garlic. Most importantly (as others) added Italian Seasoning (I use Gourmet Garden "tube" … love this stuff) directly to the onion / meat / rice mixture. Probably a little more liberal with Worcestershire sauce. Used only red, orange, and yellow peppers. Finally, as others suggested, needed more "sauce". Combined one can of tomato sauce (per recipe) and one can of tomato soup and couple of teaspoons of Italian Seasoning. Gave enough sauce to baste and made a little more moist. Awesome awesome. Total success but want to try the barley recommendation as well as poblano variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Do you have to use brown rice because I used white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written. We absolutely loved them. I am making them again today for the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Yummy!Added chopped mushrooms to the onions,burger, and garlic. Didn't use the cheese. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanay
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Turned out great I used ground chicken instead and seasoned meat with garlic powder and onion powder it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Yes yes yes! Perfect and healthy meal. My husband loved these too and even ate the leftovers (which is rare). I added the rice halfway through the hour of baking and they turned out great. I do think a bit more sauce would be good on these so next time I'll increase the liquid amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eViE nOeL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added 1 tbs. Sugar and 1 tbs brown sugar to sauce over top and a bay leaf to mixture as I browned meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States