Healthier Southern Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I didn't have whole wheat flour, but I did like that it is lower in sugar. Best peach cobbler I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I really liked this--just be sure to watch it or it could burn if it bakes too long. It took about 20-25 minutes for our topping to get brown enough, 30 minutes would have been too much. The main thing I liked is that you don't feel like you're eating pure sugar. The peaches shine, and if you wanted to add a small scoop of vanilla ice cream to it you won't blow your diet. Pecans would also make a nice addition. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Mine cooked in 20 minutes - so watch it carefully - love this recipe - not too sweet like many cobblers, I used 1/4 t of nutmeg, I was out of lemon juice - I used a bit of orange juice instead - loved it. I also cut back on the butter a bit using 5 tablespoons and it was still good - may try to go even lower next time to see if I can get away with it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is SO much better than regular peach cobbler. It doesn't give me that sick feeling from consuming too much sugar. I used honey in place of brown sugar and brown rice flour in place of the cornstarch in the peach mixture. I used half whole wheat and half brown rice flour, 4 TBL vegan butter, and slightly less white sugar in the biscuit mixture. Thanks so much for submitting, I will be using this for apple cobbler also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
super easy, whipped this up while the hubby was bbq-ing some chicken. substituted splenda for sugar, and didn't notice any sweetener-taste. the dough was nice and crumbly, and the peaches weren't overly sweet. i'd definitely make this again, and i'd likely add raspberries or something else to give it a little twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Fantastic recipe. My husband loved it. Took about 15 min to bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
At last a peach cobbler that isn't sickenly sweet - otherwise we just can't eat it. Thanks indeed for adding something to my files that is super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Not bad. The topping was fabulous. Our peaches weren't terribly sweet to begin with, so we probably should have added some sugar, but I think with sweeter peaches, this amount would have been fine. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I used Splenda brown sugar blend instead of regular brown sugar but used the same amount. Turned out fabulous! I had to give out thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
We have wonderful peaches here in Oregon, and I planned on making my usual cobbler when I had a surplus. I'm thrilled that I tried this recipe instead, which makes a superb cobbler. We all liked the balance between the topping and fruit and that it was not cloyingly sweet. I made the recipe as directed, but used only 1 TBS brown sugar on top. This is a recipe I'll share and make over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States