Healthier Southern Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I really liked this--just be sure to watch it or it could burn if it bakes too long. It took about 20-25 minutes for our topping to get brown enough, 30 minutes would have been too much. The main thing I liked is that you don't feel like you're eating pure sugar. The peaches shine, and if you wanted to add a small scoop of vanilla ice cream to it you won't blow your diet. Pecans would also make a nice addition. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is SO much better than regular peach cobbler. It doesn't give me that sick feeling from consuming too much sugar. I used honey in place of brown sugar and brown rice flour in place of the cornstarch in the peach mixture. I used half whole wheat and half brown rice flour, 4 TBL vegan butter, and slightly less white sugar in the biscuit mixture. Thanks so much for submitting, I will be using this for apple cobbler also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
super easy, whipped this up while the hubby was bbq-ing some chicken. substituted splenda for sugar, and didn't notice any sweetener-taste. the dough was nice and crumbly, and the peaches weren't overly sweet. i'd definitely make this again, and i'd likely add raspberries or something else to give it a little twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I didn't have whole wheat flour, but I did like that it is lower in sugar. Best peach cobbler I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Mine cooked in 20 minutes - so watch it carefully - love this recipe - not too sweet like many cobblers, I used 1/4 t of nutmeg, I was out of lemon juice - I used a bit of orange juice instead - loved it. I also cut back on the butter a bit using 5 tablespoons and it was still good - may try to go even lower next time to see if I can get away with it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, it's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Super yummy. I did add oatmeal to the cobbler mixture. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Loved this! Used even less sugar than the recipe called for, left out the white sugar, and none for the top. That's what probably is making everyone's topping burn. Mine was fine at 30 mins. Cut the flour to half in the topping and added oats, I like a more substantial topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
We have wonderful peaches here in Oregon, and I planned on making my usual cobbler when I had a surplus. I'm thrilled that I tried this recipe instead, which makes a superb cobbler. We all liked the balance between the topping and fruit and that it was not cloyingly sweet. I made the recipe as directed, but used only 1 TBS brown sugar on top. This is a recipe I'll share and make over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I used Splenda brown sugar blend instead of regular brown sugar but used the same amount. Turned out fabulous! I had to give out thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
At last a peach cobbler that isn't sickenly sweet - otherwise we just can't eat it. Thanks indeed for adding something to my files that is super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States