Healthier Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I am so excited to be the first reviewer and to have such wonderful things to say about this recipe! First of all it was so easy to make and it was so filling as well. I have two small boys and they both ate all of it! I did adjust a few things due to the fact that the kids are not big on spice incase it would be I only used one pepper. I also ended up cooking it on top of the stove top since I found out my crock pot was broken. Great it is a definite keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I was skeptic that the flavor would be ideal in a "healthier" version of this recipe, but it turned out wonderful! I used about 25% more chicken, half a can of diced jalapenos instead of banana peppers, a can of Bush's seasoned black beans and kept everything else the same. The chicken was added at the beginning raw, and turned out amazingly tender after cooking 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Really delicious... I always make it exactly like the recipe the first time and make notes of what changes to make.. this one will pretty much remain the same! i especially like baking the tortillas, my previous recipe called for fried tortilla strips.. this is healthier... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
really good! I added just a tiny bit of light sour cream, low fat cheese, and green onions and omitted the banana peppers. Really good. I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
GREAT soup and super easy! I used homemade broth (I make broth from chicken bones, just toss them in the crock pot and cook all day then freeze it - free, tasty and zero salt) added no additional salt and it was still plenty salty for us. Used 1/2 the chicken and water it suggested, and added a can of black beans (rinsed). The baked tortillas strips were an excellent addition, and the recipe made 4 big bowls (dinner size). Didn't plan ahead so started with frozen chicken and broth and it took less than an hour on the stove. Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Very Good. Easy to make and all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I used one can diced tomatoes instead of whole peeled and I used more chicken broth in place of the water. Very quick to prepare. We topped this soup with a little shredded cheddar cheese, reduced fat sour cream and I served homemade fry bread with it to sop up the broth. I'd make this again but I'd add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Easy to make. Forgot to buy the peppers so added a can of diced mild chilis. Started with frozen chicken breasts so I put them in without cutting into strips and without defrosting, and fork split them at the end. Garnished with fresh cilantro, diced green onions, sharp cheddar cheese and a dab of plain nonfat Greek yogurt. I will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
What a hit! I've made this soup twice in the last week. My family can't get enough of it and asks me to make more. I added a can of rinsed black beans and a can of hominy and cut back on the amount of banana pepper because we aren't big fans of overly spicy food. I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very good. I did make a few small changes: stewed tomatoes instead of whole, seeded jalapeno peppers instead of banana, all chicken broth instead of half water plus I added a can of rinsed black beans and the juice of half a lemon. The baked tortilla strips were a bit of a letdown however. Next time I may use a little corn meal to thicken it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States