Healthier Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe, and so does my husband and my very young toddler. I use almost twice the chicken, canned green chilis since my grocery store doesn't carry banana peppers, and I add a can of black beans. Keep a close eye on those tortilla strips though, because in just ten minutes, mine were way too brown to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great recipe! I actually used frozen chicken breasts and pull them apart when it is done cooking. Easier for my busy schedule! You would never know this recipe is the "healthy" version because it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Oh Wow!! Love love loved this one!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This soup is amazing!!! You can reduce the sodium used by mashing 4 medium tomatoes yourself instead of using canned tomatoes. The same goes with the corn and I also added a half cup of cooked black beans (which was in the can) and then, instead of using enchilada sauce I used 1/4 a cup of chili sauce to spice it up (use only if you like it spicy though and reduce the amount as necessary)...I also added two tables spoons of tomato paste to thicken it up, it’s absolutely delicious!!!! Garnish with ff cheese and sour crème then sprinkle little chips...hmmm good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
A family favorite. One of the tastiest healthier slow cooker recipes I've tried yet. Very simple and delicious. Makes great leftovers, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Made this last night, stove top instead of slow cooker. It was AWESOME! I did make some changes tho. Used left-over cooked chicken that I shredded, used a can of diced tomato with green chili's instead of whole tomatoes, used all chicken broth instead of broth and water, and used a Serrano pepper sliced thin, with ribs and seeds, instead of banana peppers. Spicy! I used Ancho chili powder instead of generic chili powder. I also upped the measurements of the chili powder and cumin to 1 tablespoon each, and added a tablespoon of ground corriander because I didn't have fresh cilantro. I also just bought the tortilla strips that are sold in the salad dressing isle, instead of buying a whole pack of corn tortillas that I would only use 7 of. Got the chili/lime flavored ones, and they were great! Also, when I served the soup, I served it with lime wedges to squeeze over the soup. Very nice touch. My husband loved it, and I see this becoming a regular soup in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was super easy and great tasting! I prepped the veggies and chicken the night before, and the next morning I threw all the ingredients in the crock pot before work. When I got home it was ready and wondedrful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Fantastic flavor. I added some.more spices and put it in the crock pot. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This soup is amazing. Couple notes: I added black beans, and used white corn instead of yellow (just am not a fan of yellow corn, personally); you can probably replace the enchilada sauce with salsa to cut down on the sodium; and I didn't use the two cups of water because I like my soups heartier. But all-in-all, a very EASY, VERY DELICIOUS soup. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I am not a soup person at all...And I LOVED THIS! And so did my husband. this will be a staple in our house...serve it with a side of cheese quesadilla and you have a Mexican twist on your standard grilled cheese and tomato soup! YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States