Healthier Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Delecioso!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a family favorite recipe. I make this soup all the time. It's quick and easy yet tastes like I slaved all day in the kitchen. I do substitute chicken broth for the water. In fact I just dump in a 32 oz box of chicken broth. I also omit the banana peppers (I don't like banana peppers) and so instead I add a pinch of dried pepper flakes for the kick. Otherwise I make the recipe exactly as written and I always make a double batch each time. Everyone who tries this recipe loves it and wants the recipe. Thanks so much for a healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This has a decent calorie count, for those who are watching, and excellent flavor. It has just the right amount of heat to add interest, but not pain! I let it go on high in the slow cooker for 3 hours, and the chicken was done, and the veggies were still crunchy, just the way I like them! It has a light, fresh taste, and it is a recipe worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Loved it! Added carrots and celery and used diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. Topped it with Pepper Jack cheese, chips and avocado. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I added some tomitillos and used pasilla peppers for a spicier soup as well as a some fresh oregano and kafir lime leaves. I strongly suggest you roast a chicken stuffed with a lime and use what's not meat to make broth. Remove the fat from the broth and use in place of water. A very nice soup that goes great with corn bread, fresh cilantro, avacado, & fresh limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATDAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
The best soup ever... It was so good, we didn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was really looking forward to trying this soup. I used 2 cans of tomatoes diced with chili peppers included. I drained them to get some of the sodium out. This added more spice and it went well with the lowfat sour cream. I didn't use the banana peppers but at the end I cut a lime and added the juice from half the lime. The second time I made this I added black beans. This recipe is great to add new things to. I will use this soup a lot everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I took the recommendations of others and put the chicken breasts (frozen) into the slow cooker. I then cooked it all on high for 6 hours. When it was done, I shredded the chicken while it was still in the cooker. I also replaced the banana peppers with a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies and added a 15 oz can of drained/rinsed black beans to the mix. As others have mentioned, this makes a great meal when served over 1/2 cup of brown rice. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this soup tonight and its a HUGE hit in my house. Especially for my 11 year old grandson who is a very picky eater. I did change some things. Instead of the canned tomatoes and the banana peppers, I added 2 cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with mild jalapenos. I used vegetable broth because it had very little sodium in it. I also made homemade enchilada sauce for the same reason, to reduce the sodium. This will be a regular on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe, and so does my husband and my very young toddler. I use almost twice the chicken, canned green chilis since my grocery store doesn't carry banana peppers, and I add a can of black beans. Keep a close eye on those tortilla strips though, because in just ten minutes, mine were way too brown to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States