Healthier Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
found it to be rather bland as is, but giving it 4 stars as it is an excellant base recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by eweber
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Yummy. I baked the rolls separately so they wouldn't get soggy, and I made gluten free chiabatta rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My family loves this recipe! I will being making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novice cook1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Definitely a winner in my family! I added a cup of chicken broth while cooking, for extra flavor. I also dipped the torn biscuits in flour to thicken the mixture. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkhl
Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
It was very good. My PICKY teen who NEVER eats a veggie loved it! I had to swap out the cheese for goat cuz he is allergic & I used fresh rather than frozen spinach. I used 2+ cups spinach & .cut cheese to 1/2 cup since goat is stronger tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Really good basic crock-pot recipe! Followed it exactly and it did not disappoint. I'm way impressed that the biscuits held up the way they did; the boyfriend loved it too. Will make again when we get back into fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmisjaqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
only complaint was that it didnt last long enough lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe! However, you do have to add liquid... I added a cup or so of water and should have added more. Also used whole wheat low-fat biscuits and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I want to review this recipe while it's still fresh in my mind. Thanks to all who reviewed this; you gave me suggestions I might not have considered had I gone AS IS. I didn't shred the breasts, but as the pieces were so large, I cut them into thirds and fourths. After rinsing and drying, I rubbed them in various herbs and spices: Kosher salt, fresh ground pepper; dried parsley, sage, tarragon, thyme, marjoram, Greek oregano, garlic powder; a dash of paprika, and to give it a tiny bit of heat, some red pepper flakes, then let it "marinade' 2 hours. I passed on the butter and used one of the new "Knorr" stock additives. I only had beef, but figured with the cream of chicken, the flavors would hopefully blend; this went in at the point I should have added butter. I used half a yellow onion and three scallions, plus 4 small cloves of garlic. One thing the recipe doesn't mention is to check the crock pot; 5 hours before adding the carrots may be too long. I'm glad I checked mine as the chicken and 'gravy' stock was ready. I added the carrots (which I lightly sprinkled with Kosher salt, pepper, thyme) then a 20-ounce can of Pillsbury reduced-fat 'Grands'. Having read that some of the dumplings were raw even after 40 minutes, I went with an hour for the final cooking time; put the crock pot on WARM, then added the frozen peas. A green salad and a Texas Gewürztraminer accompanied it all. Perfect for a winter night in KY. I'll definitely do this again, my way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
We'd baked a whole chicken a few nights earlier, so I just shredded the leftovers in the crockpot. I added carrots, celery, onion, garlic and basil for the veggies, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, and vegetable stock. Before I added the buscuit dough I tasted the soup and it was a bit bland, so I added oregano, more basil, and extra salt and pepper. Perfect! I put the buscuit dough in and left it on low for another 2 hours (cooked 10 hours total). Perfect! The boyfriend has been eating all the leftovers for his lunches all week he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States