Healthier Sloppy Joes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
OMG this was awesome.. bf said this was a roaring success.. i've never made sloppy joes from scratch before other than maybe adding a can of manwich to some ground beef/turkey when i was a kid.. i was running out of ketchup (reduced sugar Heinz) and used about 1/4 cup and 3 tablespoons of it so i added 2 tablespoons of bbq sauce.. left out the brown sugar since the bbq sauce brings a bit of sweetness anyway.. instead of chopping up everything by hand i just threw it all in my food processor to get it chopped super fine.. can't wait to make this again.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaShawn Monigan
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Instead of using ground beef I used ground turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaShawn Monigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I adjusted for I had ingredients I had on hand. I use ground turkey, a whole red pepper, a whole small white onion, & a whole small Purple Onion. And as I increase the veggies quite a bit, I had increased the amount of ketchup used. Next time I think I might use canned diced tomatoes. It was amazing. I loved it.... loved it .....loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hallstead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jeazyy
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This recipe is excellent. The first time I used ground beef and was great. Second time I used ground turkey and was great too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Love it...always use it...red peppers, not green...Made it many times for family and parties. 5 stars...adjust ingredients to taste...drain all fat...add water for consistency. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Had to change a few things because of what we had on hand, left out the onion (didn't have one), added mustard because we were out of ground mustard, and used a little less ketchup than it called for (ran out while cooking), but the kids still ate it up and went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I didn't use carrots and I did double the sugar for my nieces sake. They were very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia and Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Loved it and a great way to sneak in veggies. I chopped the carrots too big the first time and it was a little dry for my taste, so the second time around I used the slap chopper thing we have to get it super finely chopped. I increased the ketchup to a full cup to add a little more moisture and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I ran the onion, red pepper, carrots and garlic through the food processor to get a fine chop before sauteing it. I wanted a little smokier flavor, I used half ketchup/half barbecue sauce. This sloppy joe recipe was okay--it worked for me because it used ingredients on hand and it was quick to make. I served this with ranch jo-jo potatoes and a veggie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States