Healthier Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I found a much better method with this pie crust. I wanted to make a quiche so I excluded the coconut and added more oats and flour, which I blended the oats to make oat flour. Then instead of 2 Tbsp of ice water, I did about 6-8, i just kept adding more until just right when I could roll a ball. I then took a rolling pin and rolled it out like a real pie crust instead of just pressing it into the pan, so it made it even, and in doing so it even had flaky layers like a real pie crust! This had so much less fat, and made the best quiche ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyler Wes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Coconut contains more unhealthy fats than pretty much any other food. This might be a tasty recipe, just remember, it might not be that healthy for your heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
nice oatmeal crust with texture for 1 crust pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
i'm rating this 3 stars. when i made it the crust fell apart and began to crumble trying to plate my pie :( but the taste is quite deelish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie limina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Duquesne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I have to admit I wasn't sure about a "healthy" pie crust, but this was very tasty! I made it with a banana cream pie and it was great. Can't wait to try it with an apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j-mo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Not bad, but it tastes like oatmeal and coconut. Not really what I want, but I guess to sacrifice for less calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Not your regular flakey pie crust, but a very nice healthy substitue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Tried this with a pumpkin pie filling without the coconut. It wasn't bad. I liked it better the second day perhaps because I was getting used to it. Will try again with appples. I give it an A for effort as pie crusts usually are about 1500 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I prepared this recipe last night for pumpkin pie. Actually it is wonderful, remains creaking and delicate, it will be my favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartago, Cartago, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I loved it! I left out the coconut and added extra oats. I also ground the oats into a flour like consistancey and added a tablespoon of sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by passionatebaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jessup, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States