Healthier Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I adjusted it a little bit by cutting out the oil and using applesauce instead... turned out great! It could even have some sugar eliminated and add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I cut this recipe back to 12 servings. I did make two changes--I increased both the baking soda and baking powder to a full teaspoon each and instead of using half of one egg, I added a couple tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce. I made muffins out of this recipe. Baked at 350*, my muffins were done at just over 20 minutes. This is a nice basic zucchini bread that was moist and chewy. Out of 12 muffins that were made, there are four leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
If you are like me and are trying to eliminate vegetable oils (that are the cause of so much inflamation in our arteries), try substituting 1/2 cup of plain yogurt for the vegetable oil. I also like to add 1 teaspoon of lemon zest to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was a good recipe. simple and easy to follow. i did tweak this recipe to make it gluten and oil and dairy free. replaced the all-purpose and whole wheat flour with oat flour (same measurements), and took out the 1/2 cup of oil and milk and added 1c of applesauce. was really pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Great flavorful bread! My family of seven loved this recipe, and here are my changes: I used 1/2 cup melted butter instead of the oil and lowered the sugar to 1 cup. I also added 1 cup of applesauce. It turned out perfect. The butter added the butter flavor and I felt I didn't need to cover the bread in butter before eating. We actually ate it warm out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Good recipe, I tweaked it a bit. I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and added 1 ripe banana. I also reduced the sugar to 1 C. It turned out fantastic! I also added 1 C. of white chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Good Zucchini bread. The only difference was I used all whole wheat, added 1/2 tsp nutmeg (LOVE nutmeg!) and used some brown sugar for depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aniela26
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These came out great! I substituted the milk and oil for 1 cup of applesauce, and I was out of vanilla extract so I used 3 tsp of maple syrup. I also made half the recipe in a bread pan and half in muffins. The muffins cook at the same temperature for about half the time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe. I did cut the oil by 1/4 cup and substituted applesauce (1/4 cup). I also added one ripe banana to sub for about 1/2 cup of sugar. Next time I think I'll use 1/2 cup of plain yogurt instead of applesauce! Thanks DLD review for the suggestion:) Happy and healthy snacking is possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Made this yesterday and was really disappointed with the result. My loaves baked fine, but after taking them out, they fell flat and were soggy in the middle. I changed the recipe by using only 1 C sugar, put in 2.5 C zucchini and only AP flour. What did I do wrong? I could tell the batter was too liquid when I was mixing, I wish I had added more flour. The milk made the mixture too watery for me. Though I'm not sure why my bread was flat and still too soggy? I will follow the original "non-healthy" recipe next time an see what happens. Otherwise, I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States