Healthier Hot Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This recipe was really good! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I can't think of an easy way to skin drumsticks! I'm on a high proten, low carb diet & this recipe was just what I needed! I substitued honey for the Splenda & I couldn't find garlic chili sauce so I just bought regular & added a few cloves of minced garlic. It was still good. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These were borderline too spicy for me, but very good! I did use 'I can't Believe It's Not Butter" spray in lieu of the butter (0 calories), but evenso, the website that I use to track my calories clocked this at 260 calories per 2- leg serving. I am not sure where the discrepancy is. Next time, I will use less hot sauce, and omit the Splenda because I do not feel it needs it. But overall, good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Awesome! I used sweet chili sauce and Tapatio hot sauce because I didn't have the recommended, but it still came out amazing! For sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
It is super spicy hot so you have to love hot foods, but its really good though. I did use regular sugar though and cooked boneless chicken tenders instead and put it on "Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli" which is on this website as well and has some reviews as being bland but really good. It's not bland with this chicken on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very good and very hot! I followed the recipe except sprinkled the chicken with granulated garlic before adding the sauce. I used my favorite hot sauce, Franks. I think next time I will use more of the Franks sauce and less of the chili garlic sauce. I dusted off my electric skillet for this and worked perfectly, giving the chicken an nice gummy HOT coating. Of course it took longer to cook than listed, chicken usually does if you like it well done. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These were a big hit in my house. My bf thought it wouldnt be so great since I skinned the legs but he was very impressed. We love our food hot and spicy and this is a nice, quick semi healthy supper Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used the chili garlic sauce but left out the spenda and hot sause. It was very good. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Mine weren't very spicy, but they were tasty. I had to cook longer than indicated in the recipe and I covered the pan. I found out the longer they cook, the stickier the sauce gets. Made these for the super bowl, I wish they were spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I am really happy with this recipe. It was so easy, healthy(ish), and delicious. I made a half batch but forgot to halve the sugar. It was still very good. I mixed the legs with a little Accent, garlic, and onion powder about three hours before cooking. I also used bacon fat to brown the chicken. My picky boyfriend gave this the thumbs-up and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
WOW! That's spicy! I love spicy foods, and I used Sriracha and Louisiana hot sauce. Yummy! Chicken was falling off the bone! Be sure you have plenty of napkins and water! Loved it, and I don't feel guilty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Hot Pastrami Sandwich

See what a little spicy mustard and cabbage can do for a pastrami sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States