Healthier Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I used melted margerine and "soured" lactose free milk in this recipe. I chose to add the full amount of margerine called for in this recipe in the actual cornbread and make muffins out of them--I just sprayed each muffin cup lightly with non-stick cooking spray. I got 10 cornbread muffins out of one recipe. They looked beautiful but did not rise as much as I would have liked. My family liked this cornbread recipe, but they did spread a small amount of margerine and drizzled a little organic honey over their cut muffins before digging in. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
A little dry but very good - there was none left at the end of dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Just made this again without the corn but with a handful of chopped pepperoncini peppers and it was great! Only needed about 17 minutes of bake time. Will definitely make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made exactly as stated. I always make the unhealthier Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site and love it. But am trying to be a little healthier so decided to try this. I made the Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder (also from this site and so yummy)and this cornbread. Here is the deal - if you are going to break up this cornbread in your chili, soup, etc. - it's great! But I didn't necessarily like this by itself. But I didn't hate it. Just like the original much better - like I want to eat that all alone! Will make this again though if we are eating with something where we are going to crumble the cornbread into our meal. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My family prefers more savory cornbread so I only added a healthy dash of sugar and I don't think it could have turn out any better. I was worried that I used instant homemade buttermilk (whole milk and vinegar) would make them taste weird or too dry, but it turned out delicious and stayed moist. I've already been recruited to make this recipe to use for the Thanksgiving dressing. I'm really looking forward to that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Texture was perfect! Needs more sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Great recipe, I made this tonight and my husband loved it! No, problems with it at all, I did make a minor change and only used 1/2 cup of sugar, but it was moist, tasty and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Tried last night. Smelled and looked great...found it very dry. Will try using it up with honey instead of butter. I did make according to recipe. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I love this recipe. I'm always looking for ways to make recipes better for us, and this fit the bill (and I didn't have to change it!). The corn kernels add a nice bite of sweetness instead of sugar, but if you're used to full butter, super sweet cornbread, you might want to have some honey butter ready. My kids loved it as-is, and it wasn't dry at all. This would be perfect to top chili. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States