Healthier Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I used "soured" lactose-free nonfat milk and vegetable oil in this recipe. These turned out a little flat for me, even with the additional baking powder. Even so, the kids liked these just as much as "regular" pancakes. I topped these with my own homemade strawberry-raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I don't know how much healthier these are - especially after the family soaks them in syrup and more butter. I didn't use the melted butter in the batter - instead I used 1 T. of canola oil. (Saved the butter for the top.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
As Rachel would say...YUMMO! We loved these healthier pancakes! I have always used a mix from the store. To my surprise we had no mix in the house today so I got on Allrecipes. I tweaked it just a tad. I used canola oil instead of the melted butter and I substituted half of the white flour for wheat flour. For an extra bonus I added fresh blueberries. My husband couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I only put in a sprinkle of salt, if any. I used whole wheat white flour and add a mashed banana and/or applesauce for extra moistness, sweetness, flavor and nutrition. I omitted the butter and added vanilla. Then...my daughter said they were the best pancakes I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Delicious, yummy…more please! These are the words my three children used when they were devouring these pancakes this morning. One substitute I did was for the 2 tbsp of melted butter in which was 1 mashed medium banana. We had topped the pancakes with sugar free syrup and fresh blueberries. My table of judges which are 3, 3, and 5 and tend to be the pickiest eaters for everything had absolutely loved these pancakes as opposed to the buttermilk pancake mix from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
First time trying. Much better than any store bought I've ever had! I skipped the salt, used oil instead of butter and egg substitue. I sampled the first one out of the pan, and it was really hard to wait until I was finished cooking to eat the rest!!! I won't be buying mix anytime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a splash of vanilla. They had a strong flour taste but looked good. Next time I will modify them by adding cinnamon and brown sugar. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Wow! This was so much better than I expected. I forgot the sugar in the first batch, but added it in the second. It definitely needs sugar, but only 2 tsp. is just fine. Everything else I left as is. My husband liked it much better than his Krustez box mix. So light and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Really good,made it for my mom and sisters. I added 1 tsp of vanilla abstract. 8 is a really good serving size for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Easy! I used 1 and 1/4 cups of wholewheat flour and 1/4 cup of regular flour. It was really great. Fluffy pancakes, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States