Healthier Golden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have fresh onions, so I substituted French's fried onions. Not so healthy I know, but I think the coating on the onions did the trick to thicken up the sauce. There was no need to cook with cornstarch, and I sprinkled some of the onions on top when I removed the foil. Very crispy and delicious! Thanks for the recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelGrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Simply delicious! I took another reviewer's advice and seasoned and seared the chops before covering them with the sauce mixture and putting them in the oven. I followed the remaining directions and the chops turned out great! I paired them with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilo8611

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Juicy and tender pork chops along with delicious fresh veggies! I didn't thicken the sauce with the cornstarch just because I was starving and was ready to eat. I was still able to use the sauce on rice, though. It was just a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I browned the pork chops on both sides (I'm a little skeeved out about cooking raw pork in with a sauce I'm going to eat as a gravy--it's not reflective of the recipe, just a personal preferance) and sauteed the onion and mushrooms in a little butter, then added the soup before pouring it over the pork chops in the pan. I skipped the cornstarch step only because I wanted a little thinner "gravy". Not a bad dish. It reminds me of something my Mom would have made for me as a kid. I'd make this again but I'd goose it up a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I don't comment very often but my husband loved this recipe. I usually use the recipes I find on here as starter recipes and tweak them to our tastes. This one I followed pretty close and the taste was very good. I used golden mushroom soup (I think it has more flavor)canned mushrooms and added some minced garlic and a little Dijon mustard. Served with rice and a green salad delish. Husband wants this often, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Wow, so good! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Bethel, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Loved this no having to fry chops in advance and they turned out so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I definitely ended up making this "unhealthy", but it was pretty good. I prepared the chops in a pan - searing like others advised (in butter). I also sprinkled Lawry's, Italian seasoning, Old Bay's, powdered sage, garlic powder, and pepper on the chops. I sauteed the onions in butter and then added condensed mushroom soup to them, along with chicken stock (about 1 cup or so), a dash of Lawry's, pepper, garlic powder, and sage. Poured the mixture over the chops in pan. Simmered the combo on low for 35 minutes. My four-year-old daughter tore it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I seared my chops with salt, pepper and garlic powder first. With searing, the cooking time was much less- I don't know how long as I left in an cooking thermometer so I don't set a timer. Didn't use cornstarch, I thought the gravy was a good consistency for this meal. Tasty and quick meal! *Edit* I've now cooked this a few times, and I actually think I like it better on the stove, I sauté the onions and mushrooms put them off to the side, then brown the seasoned pork chops, once they are almost done I add cream of mushroom and the sautéed veggies, turns out great! I've also tried it with Campbell's golden mushroom and it adds a great taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I didnt use the cornstarch,and used canned mushrooms. Tasted excellent! Next time wont cook for so long-chops were a little tough. Think it would be excellent over rice or egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States