Healthier Golden Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have fresh onions, so I substituted French's fried onions. Not so healthy I know, but I think the coating on the onions did the trick to thicken up the sauce. There was no need to cook with cornstarch, and I sprinkled some of the onions on top when I removed the foil. Very crispy and delicious! Thanks for the recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelGrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Simply delicious! I took another reviewer's advice and seasoned and seared the chops before covering them with the sauce mixture and putting them in the oven. I followed the remaining directions and the chops turned out great! I paired them with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilo8611

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Juicy and tender pork chops along with delicious fresh veggies! I didn't thicken the sauce with the cornstarch just because I was starving and was ready to eat. I was still able to use the sauce on rice, though. It was just a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I browned the pork chops on both sides (I'm a little skeeved out about cooking raw pork in with a sauce I'm going to eat as a gravy--it's not reflective of the recipe, just a personal preferance) and sauteed the onion and mushrooms in a little butter, then added the soup before pouring it over the pork chops in the pan. I skipped the cornstarch step only because I wanted a little thinner "gravy". Not a bad dish. It reminds me of something my Mom would have made for me as a kid. I'd make this again but I'd goose it up a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I don't comment very often but my husband loved this recipe. I usually use the recipes I find on here as starter recipes and tweak them to our tastes. This one I followed pretty close and the taste was very good. I used golden mushroom soup (I think it has more flavor)canned mushrooms and added some minced garlic and a little Dijon mustard. Served with rice and a green salad delish. Husband wants this often, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Wow, so good! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Bethel, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Loved this no having to fry chops in advance and they turned out so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I definitely ended up making this "unhealthy", but it was pretty good. I prepared the chops in a pan - searing like others advised (in butter). I also sprinkled Lawry's, Italian seasoning, Old Bay's, powdered sage, garlic powder, and pepper on the chops. I sauteed the onions in butter and then added condensed mushroom soup to them, along with chicken stock (about 1 cup or so), a dash of Lawry's, pepper, garlic powder, and sage. Poured the mixture over the chops in pan. Simmered the combo on low for 35 minutes. My four-year-old daughter tore it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I seared my chops with salt, pepper and garlic powder first. With searing, the cooking time was much less- I don't know how long as I left in an cooking thermometer so I don't set a timer. Didn't use cornstarch, I thought the gravy was a good consistency for this meal. Tasty and quick meal! *Edit* I've now cooked this a few times, and I actually think I like it better on the stove, I sauté the onions and mushrooms put them off to the side, then brown the seasoned pork chops, once they are almost done I add cream of mushroom and the sautéed veggies, turns out great! I've also tried it with Campbell's golden mushroom and it adds a great taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I didnt use the cornstarch,and used canned mushrooms. Tasted excellent! Next time wont cook for so long-chops were a little tough. Think it would be excellent over rice or egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States