Healthier Eggplant Parmesan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a winner. Made a few changes based on what i had available, Panko and Provolone instead of whole wheat and mozzerella. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious! This was my first eggplant recipe and it turned out great. Like the other reviews, I would recommend baking the eggplant for about 6 to 7 minutes per side instead of 5 to ensure the eggplant is not chewy. Also, I added chopped mushrooms and onion to the layers and it really added texture and taste. I also added chopped garlic..which I do to pretty much any recipe where it could work because I'm a garlic fanatic, if you like garlic, I'd recommend throwing some in there :) Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
The eggplant really needs to cook at 425 F, 350 is too low and it will be unpleasantly chewy. I made the recipe twice, and it was much better when the eggplant was cooked at a hotter temp. Otherwise, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
We were given a lot of eggplants and I was trying to find a recipe for Eggplant Parmesan that was not fried. We tried this recipe and it was very good!! Will definitely be making this again in the summer when we get loaded with eggplants from our garden! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Excellent recipe. For an even healthier version try using ground flax seed and water mixture at a ratio of 1 tbsp flax to 3 tbsp water as a substitute for the eggs. Then prepare the eggplant early by slicing them, sparingly sprinkle with sea salt, placing them on paper towels in single layers and watch the towels soak up the water. Let them sit for about an hour before coating them in flax mixture and bread crumbs. . Best Eggplant Parmesan we've ever made at home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have made this several times. The quality of the pasta sauce can make a difference in the results. It was always delicious but really incredible with my mom's arrabiata sauce - made from her garden's tomatoes! I am making this for Christmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
So good!! I will definitely make this again! My husband is not normally a big eggplant fan but loved this. I used the suggestion to slice and soak up moisture from the eggplant with paper towels and something heavy for about an hour. I coooked the eggplant at 350 for ten min. each side and used Italian bread crumbs. Consistency turned out great. For the marinara, I used a spaghetti sauce (by: courtneynoonan) recipe I found on this site which had great flavor. We added a bit of garlic salt to our serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made this last night for dinner. I cut the recipe in half since I was just cooking for myself, but I followed everything else exactly. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Wow! This was fabulous! I was worried the recipe would be too dry so I added a little greek yogurt to the cheese and it was perfect! A definite repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was my first time making eggplant parm. It turned out absolutely delicious! My family and co-workers loved it! 10 minutes of pre-baking on each side worked perfectly for me. I added some garlic, onions and mushrooms. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States