Healthier Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I did not use the butter, milk, or flour. I used vegetable and chicken stock, increased the carrot, green beans, and onion. For seasonings, I added a little allspice and Marsalla. Really tasty. Jane.Braun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Braun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Yu-um!! Very good recipe! Super easy and delicious! I didn't have any green beans but it was still yummy. My daughter insists we put some in next time! ThaNas for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny bartolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Love this reciepe. Been making it for years I was hoping to get a healthier version without loss of flavor. I don't think this did it. I sauté onions veggies, ham and ham bone first. Then add chicken stock or bullion with water. Make sure to cook the butter an flour in separate pan before adding that keeps the pasty flavor away. Bone really helps with flavor as the sauté does. Enjoy your comfort dish not a healthy version good try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
So I just made this and, holy smokes! It's so good!The White pepper adds this addictive spice that I can't get enough of. I had to tweak it a little because I didn't have all the ingredients. I didn't have carrots or ham. I put in a whole bag of peas added a lot more potatoes and only used around 2 Tablespoons butter. Oh and I tossed in one fresh Jalapeno. I will be making a few batches of this and freezing it! I! LOVE! IT! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kendziora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Really good. Added a sweet potato, only used 1 TB butter, 2 tsp Italian seasoning, 1/2 c edamame, added enough chicken broth to cover ingredients. Came out great except a little too spicy because of amount of white pepper. Will use regular pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Followed the recipe pretty much.When doing the roux with flour & blending in the milk,it just wasn't thick enough. So I added some corn starch to thicken it up more when cooking.After adding the Roux to the Pot, I tried the soup,It was good,but I wanted to kick it up a notch.I added Sour Cream.What a Nice added flavor.I first added some to my test bowl of soup.It was so good.Then I added the Sour Cream to the whole Pot.Add a bit at a time to your liking,or not at all.It's great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This soup was great for my picky family. Everyone had seconds. Good hearty soup for a winter evening. I used vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I decided to leave out the flour and milk like cpolis said and it turned out good. It was more of a stew that way, but I expected that. The problem with doing it without flour and milk is that it is a ton of butter; next time I'll probably half it. The other problem is that there is no way you can realistically feed 8 people with as much as it makes. I would say it is closer to 4 or 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farragut, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I loved it!! Made no substitutions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Awesome recipe. I made this for my son, who is a fan of potato soup and this is now his favorite. Super easy to make and is it is done fairly quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Andrade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States