Healthier Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have always liked the original version of this recipe and I liked this too, but I don't know how much 'healthier' it is. I used about 4 large carrots and a whole smallish onion - a lot more celery than is called for. Add what ever vegetables you have available. This is one of those great comfort meals - enjoy but don't think it is that much 'healthier'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was tasty! I glanced at the recipe thinking I had everything, but was very wrong. I had to butcher it because I was out of so much. I subbed a leek for celery, shallot for onion, chicken broth for bullion/water and cornstarch for flour. I had only about 1 Tbs butter and made that work too. For being so short on some key ingredients, it turned out great! It's also good to know I could make it with much less butter and it still tasted wonderful! Next time I will be sure to have flour, otherwise I kinda like the revisions I had to make. I had to use a little more than a cup of milk but that may be due to the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My mom and I just made a pot of this potato soup for dinner.It is very good.I didn't have any chopped Ham so I used Hillshire Sausage instead.I used can cut green beans because I didn't have any fresh ones.The amount of vegetables were lowered because of the amount of juice.I also used less butter and flour.I added a tablespoon of corn starch.I also added some whipping cream.I seasoned to taste with salt pepper and seasoning salt.This recipe is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was delicious! My husband said it was the best potato soup he's had. We didn't add the green beans because all we had were canned beans and I didn't think that sounded very good. I will probably experiment with this a little bit- my husband wants to add peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Absolutely the very best soup I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This soup turned out wonderful!! I think I used this recipe more as a guide.. Used the ham bone from my New Years ham to make a stock- covered the bone in water in a stock pot and let it simmer for about 3 hours. Then used that as my base. Added celery, onion, carrot, and potatoes- cooked. Then added roux. I also added a little garlic, salt, chicken boullion, and cayenne pepper. My first time cooking potato soup & it will definitely not be the last!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was excellent soup-real comfort food on a very cold Winter day of 17 degrees in Idaho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great soup. I added corn and used a bit of beef bouillon instead of chicken. turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountaindweller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed the soup. His words were this is a "soup that sticks to your bones". Served with side salads. I will definetely cook again. By the way I didn't have any white pepper so I substituted black pepper and the taste was great. The pepper specks did not ruin or look unappealing to us. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States