Healthier Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My husband and two kids all really liked this soup. I didn't even add the milk/flour. I found that once I used a masher to mash up the potatoes, the soup was plenty thick and creamy. Also I used a spiral ham that had enough salt, so I skipped the bouillon. I added fresh dill and parsley too. So with less salt and no milk, it was even healthier/low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Substituted corn for beans. Added 1/2 cup sharp cheddar to milk mixture - YUMMY!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this for my family last night. The only thing I left off were the green beans. For the Ham I used a Ham Bone I had in the freezer. My family thought this was wonderful and there was not any left! The only added thing I did was use my immersible blender to blend it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed the soup. His words were this is a "soup that sticks to your bones". Served with side salads. I will definetely cook again. By the way I didn't have any white pepper so I substituted black pepper and the taste was great. The pepper specks did not ruin or look unappealing to us. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great soup. I added corn and used a bit of beef bouillon instead of chicken. turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountaindweller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was excellent soup-real comfort food on a very cold Winter day of 17 degrees in Idaho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This soup turned out wonderful!! I think I used this recipe more as a guide.. Used the ham bone from my New Years ham to make a stock- covered the bone in water in a stock pot and let it simmer for about 3 hours. Then used that as my base. Added celery, onion, carrot, and potatoes- cooked. Then added roux. I also added a little garlic, salt, chicken boullion, and cayenne pepper. My first time cooking potato soup & it will definitely not be the last!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Absolutely the very best soup I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was delicious! My husband said it was the best potato soup he's had. We didn't add the green beans because all we had were canned beans and I didn't think that sounded very good. I will probably experiment with this a little bit- my husband wants to add peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States