Healthier Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe. I changed it a bit. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of cow's milk, omitted the butter entirely, and only used 1/4 cup of sugar, which was more than enough. I also left out raisins because I don't like them, and like other reviewers, I tempered the egg first with the last 1/2 cup of milk. This recipe turned out great and everyone in the house loved it. Next time I will have to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this today and LOVED IT. I left out the butter, cut raisins back to 3 T, and also tempered the egg before adding it into the pot so as not to have scrambled egg bits. Also, I used soy milk and cooked brown rice. Per other comments, I cut back on the sugar too. I added 2 Truvia packets instead of sugar, and found the pudding plenty sweet. A dish a cinnamon, and all was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I give this about 3.5 stars. It was honestly, just way too sweet for my taste. After making this, I believe I had made the original recipe for this rice pudding and thought exactly the same. I only had 1/2 cup of raisins, so I used that much. I still thought there were too many raisins. I was surprised the recipe did not say to temper the eggs. I decided to follow the recipe as written, and learned I was right about that. I ended up with a few egg white bits in the pudding. I also thought the pudding was slightly too thin, but thickened after it cooled. I added some cinnamon in my serving bowl and it did cut through the sweetness a tad. I guess, I will keep looking for a good but slightly healthy recipe that has the right balance of creaminess to sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious!! I doubled the recipe because I have a big family. I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup maple syrup. I omitted the raisins and butter and it still turned out so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This turned out great for me and I love that it's made using brown rice. I had currants on hand, so I used them instead of raisens. Although I think it would even be good on it's own without the fruit (if you happen to not have any and still want to make this). I also used slightly less sugar, only because I'm not big on sweet, and a dash of cinnamin and nutmeg on each serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Tried this recipe today. Made a couple adjustments, for my own taste, but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!!! You'd never know this is a "healthy" recipe!!!! I skipped the raisins but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Wow, this is the ultimate comfort food! I had leftover brown rice from a family dinner and decided to use that to make this delicious pudding. I followed the recipe but did half Splenda and half sugar plus a sprinkle of cinnamon. It was so delicious and creamy. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I tried it today it's just wooooooooooo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I love this recipe! It's a healthier version of one of my favorite foods. I double the recipe and I do double the amount of vanilla and add 1/2 Tbsp of Cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of Nutmeg. I also cut down the amount of suger to 1/2 cup (1/4 cup if making the recipe as stated) and found that it was sweet enough without being 'sugary'. I have found that once it's refridgerated that it tends to thicken quite considerably so I need to add a few tablespoons of milk before I reheat. But it's so wonderful I don't care! Also, try adding the seeds from 1/2 a vanilla pod instead of the spices above. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States