Healthier Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very tasty. I liked the lowfat alternative. You really didn't miss the high fat ingredients at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My husband and I made it today for Christmas dinner. It was more than fabulous. I too used fat free milk as others did and thought it turned out just fine. I always use no-salt butter. Not too cheesy and greasy just perfect. The onions were a nice touch since the hubby LOVES onion. Two thumbs up!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made this recipe as stated except I used skim milk. The potatoes were still yummy and creamy. Everyone loved the dish and it's a great make-ahead recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These potatoes were wonderful. A great way to save some calories. I used instant nonfat dry milk since that is all I had on hand. If I make this dish again, I would use a little less onion and chop the onion instead of slicing the onion. I also would reserve some of the cheese for the top and sprinkle paprika for color. During the last 10-15 minutes I would uncover the potatoes so the top browns nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I almost never make major changes to a recipe before I make it "as is" first. So after making this exactly as written once (and it was very good!), these are the changes that I made to make it even more healthy. I used yukon gold potatoes (leaving peel on) because I found the russte to be a bit mealy. I used 1 Tbls butter, 1 1/2 Tbls organic EVOO (a healthier fat). I also used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk, this made it extra creamy. Just before I added the cheese to the sauce, I put in a minced clove of garlic and a couple dashes of hot sauce. The changes were made because of my families personal tastes but this is the way we make them all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this recipe even more Healthier. Instead of low-fat (1%) milk I used instead non-dairy creamer not powder and you must use a non-flavor creamer. It makes it so creamer and it tastes better. With your potatoes LEACH them, which means to soak the starch out for about 3 hour's or longer it's better. Try using salt free seasoning or flavored and yes they have low Phosphorus their out there and let's not forget a little Garlic Powder. I love cheese even low fat but I did find a non-dairy cheese and I know what your going to say. YUCK!!! I did find a cheese and it's called Daiya (DAAYA) and many restaurant's use this cheese and you didn't even know it. HA! Instead of real butter use margarine instead or a Healthier Brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I wanted another "go to" side dish recipe for those times I am asked to "bring something" and this looked good. I made it basically as is, though when I changed the amounts to alter the servings, I mistakenly calculated the milk wrong so mine came out a bit dry. I followed other reviews' suggestions and minced the onion. I also took the sliced potatoes and minced onion, and mixed them together with the salt and pepper before adding the cheese sauce. Added a dash of garlic powder, but this was still bland...not sure what it needs....maybe fresh rosemary? I will probably try it again and see if I can liven up the flavor, it's worth another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made these potatoes twice over the holidays and they were a big hit! The only changes I made was that I didn't peel the potatoes and used white potatoes over russet, I mixed 1 cup light cream and 1 cup skim milk and instead of all cheddar, i used half 4 cheese Italiano (Kraft) and the other cheddar. These were awesome and were gobbled up fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family! I used 2% milk because that's all I had. All other ingredients, bake time the same. Super creamy and delicious, this will definitely be in our regular rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My husband loved this, didn't notice it was low fat at all. The only thing I changed was to omit the onions because I don't like them, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States