Healthier Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Sounds really good I'd add chopped fresh spinach to it for an added healthy and flavorful ingredient. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Made this for dinner and it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe was very good. My husband likes his potatoes plain but he commented on how much he liked the recipe. Tasty and reduced fat- thank you! No need for any changes at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very Good, used my food processor to slice potatoes and grate the old cheese, the rest was easy, I salted & peppered each layer and threw in a pinch of rosemary as well in each layer. Put rosemary in the sauce also, it turned out wonderful, well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Very nice. I used already baked potatoes, since in my experience that is always what takes forever, left out the onion, and added in Montreal Steak Seasoning. This is a delicious au gratin and I'm not entirely certain it's healthy even with the modifications, but it's okay to indulge every once in a while. We enjoyed this one, and I used skim milk since that's all we buy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Turned out good, would have a liked it a little more cheesy- may try the "less healthy" version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmisjaqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Just decided to try this recipe tonight. Of course I didn't read it through and didn't have the 1 1/2 hours to have it cook. After I had the sliced potatoes and onions in the glass baking dish, I microwaved for 7 minutes while I made the sauce. I then baked the finished dish about 1 hour. They came out perfect. My entire family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I wanted another "go to" side dish recipe for those times I am asked to "bring something" and this looked good. I made it basically as is, though when I changed the amounts to alter the servings, I mistakenly calculated the milk wrong so mine came out a bit dry. I followed other reviews' suggestions and minced the onion. I also took the sliced potatoes and minced onion, and mixed them together with the salt and pepper before adding the cheese sauce. Added a dash of garlic powder, but this was still bland...not sure what it needs....maybe fresh rosemary? I will probably try it again and see if I can liven up the flavor, it's worth another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I almost never make major changes to a recipe before I make it "as is" first. So after making this exactly as written once (and it was very good!), these are the changes that I made to make it even more healthy. I used yukon gold potatoes (leaving peel on) because I found the russte to be a bit mealy. I used 1 Tbls butter, 1 1/2 Tbls organic EVOO (a healthier fat). I also used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk, this made it extra creamy. Just before I added the cheese to the sauce, I put in a minced clove of garlic and a couple dashes of hot sauce. The changes were made because of my families personal tastes but this is the way we make them all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States