Healthier Chicken Enchiladas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I used FF plain yogurt instead of the sour cream and corn tortillas just because I prefer them. I also threw my peppers and onion in the pan and sauteed them slightly, but they were still crunchy, which I like. I also did not roll the tortillas but made them into a layered casserole. I love the addition of red bell pepper and black beans to this healthier version. I enjoyed this dish and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This recipe is a winner. I used whole wheat tortillas instead of white flour and added a bit more of the green and red peppers because my husband loves them. Also, I found I didn't need nearly as much taco sauce as the recipe called for, but that could just be my personal preference. The dish turned out beautifully and I swear it tastes exactly like the full fat version. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made several modifications to this based on what I had - we also love spicy food so I add kick to everything. I halved and butterflied two giant chicken breasts, added S&P, cooked on a grill pan and minced the chicken. I pre-cooked the onion and peppers before adding anything else (about double the peppers), and used diced hot cherry pepper instead of red (just one). I used fat-free yogurt in place of sour cream, added a can of diced tomatoes instead of sauce, added 1/4 salsa, and added 2 tsp. cumin, 1/4 cup taco seasoning and exchanged cilantro for oregano, and used white beans instead of black. As with any dish like this I cooked the filling for about 20 minutes. I used whole wheat tortillas and only used enough taco sauce to cover the enchiladas (maybe 1/3 cup). I only had 4 tortillas, so the rest of the filling is...dare I say, delicious chicken chili??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe saved me the other night b/c it assembles quickly & I had almost every ingredient either in the pantry or the freezer. I also used NF Greek yogurt (instead of the light sour cream) & whole wheat tortillas. Family loved them and the leftovers reheated well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Unlike other users, I made it more caloric. I used full fat sour cream and cheese. However, I used less chicken and more veggies. I also added a couple of jalapenos because we love heat. This recipe is delicious. My daughter loved it and my husband asked that it become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe was hit at my house. I substituted whole wheat tortillas, hot chili powder, and black beans w/jalapenos. All good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this pretty much following the recipe to a tee and it was delicious. I did end up using more than 8 tortillas and using 2 casserole dishes but that just meant that we had some leftovers which was fine with me. When I make this again, I think I'll sprinkle some fresh avocado on top to make it a little more healthy after it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
These are very good. My husband is a picky eater who loves spicy food and hates most 'healthy' food. Even though this recipe is healthier than some of the others, this is my husband's faveorite and he requests it all of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Yum! Followed the recipe exactly for this one... Loved it. Made the whole 8 servings and served to friends. Making them again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States