Healthier Chicken Enchiladas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I used FF plain yogurt instead of the sour cream and corn tortillas just because I prefer them. I also threw my peppers and onion in the pan and sauteed them slightly, but they were still crunchy, which I like. I also did not roll the tortillas but made them into a layered casserole. I love the addition of red bell pepper and black beans to this healthier version. I enjoyed this dish and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This recipe is a winner. I used whole wheat tortillas instead of white flour and added a bit more of the green and red peppers because my husband loves them. Also, I found I didn't need nearly as much taco sauce as the recipe called for, but that could just be my personal preference. The dish turned out beautifully and I swear it tastes exactly like the full fat version. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Talley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I made several modifications to this based on what I had - we also love spicy food so I add kick to everything. I halved and butterflied two giant chicken breasts, added S&P, cooked on a grill pan and minced the chicken. I pre-cooked the onion and peppers before adding anything else (about double the peppers), and used diced hot cherry pepper instead of red (just one). I used fat-free yogurt in place of sour cream, added a can of diced tomatoes instead of sauce, added 1/4 salsa, and added 2 tsp. cumin, 1/4 cup taco seasoning and exchanged cilantro for oregano, and used white beans instead of black. As with any dish like this I cooked the filling for about 20 minutes. I used whole wheat tortillas and only used enough taco sauce to cover the enchiladas (maybe 1/3 cup). I only had 4 tortillas, so the rest of the filling is...dare I say, delicious chicken chili??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This dish was a hit at my dinner party this weekend! I skipped tomato sauce, onions & garlic and used salsa instead - all those ingredients are already in there! I did as someone suggested and used cilantro instead of oregano. I was able to make 12 enchiladas but not over stuffing them and they were very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this pretty much following the recipe to a tee and it was delicious. I did end up using more than 8 tortillas and using 2 casserole dishes but that just meant that we had some leftovers which was fine with me. When I make this again, I think I'll sprinkle some fresh avocado on top to make it a little more healthy after it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Unlike other users, I made it more caloric. I used full fat sour cream and cheese. However, I used less chicken and more veggies. I also added a couple of jalapenos because we love heat. This recipe is delicious. My daughter loved it and my husband asked that it become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe was hit at my house. I substituted whole wheat tortillas, hot chili powder, and black beans w/jalapenos. All good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made this following the directions exactly with all of the ingredients. Neither me, my husband, nor my kids cared for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These were great. The filling was amazing. I could have eaten that alone. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States