Healthier Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love carrot cake, so I was pleased to try this "liter"version. I took it to a birthday party, and everyone really liked it. I did follow the recipe, and would continue to make with no substitutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I've tried original Carrot Cake III and 4/5 ppl testing it were ", is this US recipe? Its too sugar in it, can't taste anything else"... so I'll try this one for the final birthday cake. I just wonder if there is enough topping with 1/2 of sugar added?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I don't usually try recipes with so few reviews, but I liked the healthier aspect of this cake and took a chance, boy am I glad I did! I made this for my young boys and I (hubby won't eat carrot cake) so I halved the recipe...also I skipped the icing, although it sounds delicious. This cake was so good! Perfect sweetness, perfect flavor. I did use half white sugar, and half brown sugar because I wanted a little molasses flavor, but that was all I changed. Without the icing it's a healther little snack cake, and I will make it again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! I only used 1 cup of sugar. It came out moist with a great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great tasting! My husband gave it his stamp of approval and he loves carrot cake! It was really nice to know that it was healthier than regular carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour so I used 2 c. all purpose flour instead and it turned out great. I made it in 2x 8-in round pans rather than a 9x13 and baked for 40 minutes. The cake was moist and the frosting was fantastic! The only thing I'd change next time is decreasing the cinnamon from 2 tsp. to 1 1/2 tsp. because it had a little too much spice flavor for out taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
So delicious! I was leery, especially regarding the whole wheat pastry flour. The only change I made was to add a finely chopped apple to the grated carrots. We all found the cake very flavorful and moist, even on day 2! Thanks for lightening it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
we made the Healtier Carrot cake 3 and it was amazing my family were licking their plates. It was the best i have ever had. i would make it for every party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was fantastic! I noticed they reduced the sugar and oil, so I was concerned it would be dry. I added a 1/4 cup of apple sauce and it was the most moist fabulous cake ever! I also did not have wheat flour so I used all purpose flour, subbing 1 tbl for corn starch. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Wonderful Recipe! I don't like cakes that are over sweet and I did tweek it a bit, but it was great! Instead of oil I used 1 cup applesauce, and only 1 cup sugar, and I put walnuts instead of pecans. I also nixed the frosting, since I'm not a big icing person. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aindrea McHone Griffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States