Healthier Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was good. I used Panko because that's what I had. I used 1 1/2 cups of panko because that's what another reviewer said was perfect but I think that was too much and I will use the suggested amount next time. I chopped the onions so much that were almost emulsified because my daughter hates onions in meatloaf.....she was none the wiser and had no idea onions were in this recipe. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
O... M.... G!!! LOVED THIS!!! I did this with 2 packages of ground chicken instead of the beef and kept everything else the same. SO DELISH!!! And slightly healthier than this already healthy recipe. Mmmm mmmm mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I really liked this meatloaf. It made a basic home-style meatloaf. It was nice that I didn't have to figure out a topping later on and it baked with the meatloaf on the bottom. My only changes were I believe the lean ground beef I had was a 2 lb package. I chose to use 1 tsp of salt instead of 1.5 tsp. I figured extra salt could be added and ketchup had plenty. The only bread crumbs I had were panko, so that is what I used. After 1 hour there was a lot of liquid on the top and the onions didn't seem fully cooked. I scraped off the extra liquid, sprayed the top with a little olive oil to crisp it up some, and put it back in the oven. It actually took a full 30 minutes longer. That was no problem, as long as it was fully cooked along with the onions. I turned it out onto a foil lined baking sheet with sides. I suggest that unless a large platter is available as it does produce some excess tomato liquid that can get messy. I got 11 1" slices, approximately, from one loaf, at 196 calories each as made above. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe! I used ground turkey. Omitted the milk. Added siracha with the ketchup and brown sugar (sooo good) and used panko breadcrumbs instead of saltines (did not have saltines). Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This meatloaf is fantastic!! It was easy and very similar to the original version in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this last night, added some chopped red bell pepper, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. it is fantastic! We will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is a great recipe and we loved it! Instead of using a loaf pan, I molded the meatloaf and added the ketchup on top and sprinkled the brown sugar over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My husband LOVED this meatloaf and he usually is jut okay about meatloaf. The only substitution i made was using panko crumbs b/c that's all i had and adding garlic powder. threw some cut potatoes on the top to cook with the meatloaf and it was good to go. Even my 9month baby loved it! Thanks for the recipe. It's super easy and definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Wow my husband never asks what I did to the meat loaf but he did today. I was not sure if it would be a good thing but it was. I did not use the whole wheat bread crumbs. I make a few changes to this recipe I did use cracker crumbs and a bit of oatmeal as well as some bread crumbs and added garlic to the meat mixture & to the ketchup sauce I added dried mustard & Worcestershire sauce but other than that followed the recipe. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I added a little chopped green pepper like my Mom used too. It really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States