Healthier Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe closely, only cutting back on the salt a bit and omitting the ginger. I threw in a few seasonings (onion powder, garlic powder, italian seasoning) to give it a little more flavor. I used my Perfect Meatloaf Pan to cook this meat loaf--I had to reverse the brown sugar/ketchup to the top of the meat loaf as my pan has holes in the bottom for the grease to drain. A little over an hour in the oven and fifteen minutes to rest and we were ready to go. Not bad--this was a quick meat loaf that paired well with mashed potatoes and was nice and firm for sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I used panko breadcrumbs 1 1/2 cups it worked perfectly. I forgot to grease the pan before putting in meatloaf but I solved it by dripping evoo all around the pan between meatloaf and the sides and it worked like a charm!! Didn't burn at all in my small oven! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Parr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This turned out so yummy! I only had about half the breadcrumbs on hand and didn't have any ginger but otherwise followed the recipe, it turned out fantastic! At the end I melted a bit of mozza on top and it was great! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My whole family LOVED this recipe. I put the ketchup/brown sugar mix on top, and used slightly less salt but otherwise did it the same and it was perfect! Tender, soft and VERY flavorful. This will be made many times in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was good. I used Panko because that's what I had. I used 1 1/2 cups of panko because that's what another reviewer said was perfect but I think that was too much and I will use the suggested amount next time. I chopped the onions so much that were almost emulsified because my daughter hates onions in meatloaf.....she was none the wiser and had no idea onions were in this recipe. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I really liked this meatloaf. It made a basic home-style meatloaf. It was nice that I didn't have to figure out a topping later on and it baked with the meatloaf on the bottom. My only changes were I believe the lean ground beef I had was a 2 lb package. I chose to use 1 tsp of salt instead of 1.5 tsp. I figured extra salt could be added and ketchup had plenty. The only bread crumbs I had were panko, so that is what I used. After 1 hour there was a lot of liquid on the top and the onions didn't seem fully cooked. I scraped off the extra liquid, sprayed the top with a little olive oil to crisp it up some, and put it back in the oven. It actually took a full 30 minutes longer. That was no problem, as long as it was fully cooked along with the onions. I turned it out onto a foil lined baking sheet with sides. I suggest that unless a large platter is available as it does produce some excess tomato liquid that can get messy. I got 11 1" slices, approximately, from one loaf, at 196 calories each as made above. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Wow my husband never asks what I did to the meat loaf but he did today. I was not sure if it would be a good thing but it was. I did not use the whole wheat bread crumbs. I make a few changes to this recipe I did use cracker crumbs and a bit of oatmeal as well as some bread crumbs and added garlic to the meat mixture & to the ketchup sauce I added dried mustard & Worcestershire sauce but other than that followed the recipe. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was my first time making meatloaf for my husband and I. It was not bad at all and he even had seconds! As we ate he asked me what was all in it and when I said ketchup he sort of froze but enjoyed it. The only thing I did different was put the sauce on top and sprinkled the brown sugar over the ketchup. Pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This meatloaf is fantastic!! It was easy and very similar to the original version in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this last night, added some chopped red bell pepper, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. it is fantastic! We will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States