Healthier Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
If you don’t care for sweet desserts, you may want to try this subtly sweet bread pudding. The raisins and apples add just enough sweetness and flavor to make this a delightful dessert that’s a little healthier than the average bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I am happy to report it worked with gluten-free raisin bread too! I skipped the butter since I was already using whole milk, and I used Granny Smith apples and tossed in an extra one since I needed it finished off. I didn't realize it would still be quite sweet, even with the sour apples that I highly recommend trying. However, my family usually eats little sugar--okay, except for my school-aged girl who eats candy daily (sigh), although she, too, thought it was too sweet! Shocker! I was also serving it for a crazy-day's dinner, though, so a sweet main dish was a little foreign to all of us. ;) Good stuff, though. I've been enjoying it ever since for a quick treat or meal, as I had made a double batch. I can see it being perfect for cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was awesome and exactly what I was looking for to use up some whole wheat bread I had leftover! I love that it had apples in that, that was new for me but a must have from now on. It was not very sweet, which was a huge plus for me, but if you are used to a sweet bread pudding you might add a little more sugar. I loved it like it was, but I really don't like sweet things and usually have to reduce the sugar in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made this numerous times using a variety of breads, dates, raisins, apples, lotsa cinnamon. Very easy to adjust to your taste. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Wonderful recipe, not too sweet. Used almond milk in place of regular milk, and it came out better that way--the almond flavor really complements the other ingredients in the pudding. Used pear in lieu of apples. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to use a wider pan to have more of the crusty top, rather than the softer bottom portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsJuniorMints
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Loved the recipe! Would definitely make it again. Instead of using an apple I decided to use a banana and it tasted amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made a Vanilla Sauce with this I made both recipes with Splenda I has 2 small apples, it turned out very tasty together. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Superb! Add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and try turbinado instead of white sugar. Next time I'll try honey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was fantastic. Instead of bread I used bran muffins that I accidentally over baked. They were dry and I didn't want to waste the great ingredients. The walnuts were a great addition as was more apple. I used almond milk instead of dairy and next time I will use coconut oil instead of butter for a vegan dish. Also I topped the pudding with a teaspoon of cardamom and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I have used unsweetened almond milk for part of the milk. I have also used cinnamon raisin bagels for the bread & raisins. I like it with less sugar and I like the apples. I'm not always a raisin fan, so the apples are a good change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States