Healthier Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I am happy to report it worked with gluten-free raisin bread too! I skipped the butter since I was already using whole milk, and I used Granny Smith apples and tossed in an extra one since I needed it finished off. I didn't realize it would still be quite sweet, even with the sour apples that I highly recommend trying. However, my family usually eats little sugar--okay, except for my school-aged girl who eats candy daily (sigh), although she, too, thought it was too sweet! Shocker! I was also serving it for a crazy-day's dinner, though, so a sweet main dish was a little foreign to all of us. ;) Good stuff, though. I've been enjoying it ever since for a quick treat or meal, as I had made a double batch. I can see it being perfect for cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I have used unsweetened almond milk for part of the milk. I have also used cinnamon raisin bagels for the bread & raisins. I like it with less sugar and I like the apples. I'm not always a raisin fan, so the apples are a good change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was fantastic. Instead of bread I used bran muffins that I accidentally over baked. They were dry and I didn't want to waste the great ingredients. The walnuts were a great addition as was more apple. I used almond milk instead of dairy and next time I will use coconut oil instead of butter for a vegan dish. Also I topped the pudding with a teaspoon of cardamom and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made this numerous times using a variety of breads, dates, raisins, apples, lotsa cinnamon. Very easy to adjust to your taste. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Superb! Add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and try turbinado instead of white sugar. Next time I'll try honey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made a Vanilla Sauce with this I made both recipes with Splenda I has 2 small apples, it turned out very tasty together. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MsJuniorMints
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Loved the recipe! Would definitely make it again. Instead of using an apple I decided to use a banana and it tasted amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Wonderful recipe, not too sweet. Used almond milk in place of regular milk, and it came out better that way--the almond flavor really complements the other ingredients in the pudding. Used pear in lieu of apples. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to use a wider pan to have more of the crusty top, rather than the softer bottom portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I put all the wet ingredients into a bowl, then added the bread. That way I could really make sure it was moistened without slopping it all over the place. I added more apple (with the skins on) and ground nutmeg. I upped the sweetner to 3/4 cup, which was too much because I used the raisins. I think when I make it again, I might add some nuts. Overall, I really enjoyed this. I didn't use a water bath, because I forgot. It still came out fine as far as I could tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Yum! A great recipe and very easy! Not terribly sticky sweet either. I actually used Splenda and it turned out great. Try it with a little powdered sugar sprinkled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States