Healthier Banana Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Had the recipe not said "healthier" I doubt I could've detected the difference! Moist, and a tender crumb bursting w/ banana flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Loved this recipe. Instead of muffins I made 3 mini banana bread loafs. I substituted a yogurt butter blend for the butter and it came out very moist and delicious. Nice recipe for those who love that banana bread taste without so much of the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe exact. I did bake my muffins at 350*, they were done in 20 minutes. I loved that this recipe used a minimal amount of sugar especially since my bananas were quite ripe and sweet enough on their own. My whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made a few changes but the basic recipe is a good start. I added 1 Tablespoon of cinnamon to the muffin mix and added 1/4 tsp to the topping mixture. I subbed applesauce for the 1/3 c butter for an even healthier muffin. I did use butter for the topping and regretted it because it soaked through the muffin and the cups were sitting in butter when I took them out of the oven. I will try applesauce for the topping next time. I will definitely make these again though. I'm trying hard to NOT eat them all right away. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth Walters
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wonderful, flavorful muffins! I added a bit of quick oats to the crumb topping, but the rest is exactly as directed, and we could not be happier! I got 12 muffins from the recipe, though, not 10. Yay bonus muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Best receipt I've tried so far. Used more cinnamon, and added lots of whole oats to the topping. They're gone in a day here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this recipe using some of the other suggestions. Added cinnamon to the muffin mix and used 1 tablespoon unsweetened applesauce in place of the butter on the topping. I also added the quick oats to the topping mix and only a little bit of flour. They came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These were moist and delicious. Just sweet enough...the topping made it more sweet but the muffin by itself was good. I didn't feel bad feeding this to my 10 month old (removed toping) and 3 yr old.Will try using low-fat yogurt or apple sauce instead of butter next time. I made recipe exactly as written except I used ww flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
These were excellent, didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made these muffins this morning, and they were excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception-I used Splenda in place of the white sugar. I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States