Healthier Banana Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I didn't have quite enough bananas (about a cup and a half) so I added half a cup of blueberries and 2 Tbsp of crunchy peanut butter. In addition, I went with half all-purpose flour and half whole-wheat pastry flour, and put in 1/4 cup of yogurt instead of 1/8. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg; a lot of changes, I know, but it turned out very nicely! For me, it took 25 minutes to bake the 6 mini loaves + 3 muffins. I'd try the just banana version, too, next time I have enough bananas! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I added milk chocolate chucks, my guys loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I modified it by using whole wheat flour, 2 c bananas, 1/2 diced apple and about a 1/2 chopped walnuts. Everything else I used was the same & the cooking time was the same and it came out great! My husband said it was the best he has ever had. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Delicious! And compliments from my pretentious foodie friends ;) I substituted some gluten free flour (+xanthan gum) for fun. Results were excellent. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
It was pretty bland, and I even took other raters' suggestions by adding vanilla extract and nutmeg. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My bread burnt after about 45 minutes in the oven at 350 degree. It was dry as well. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
As other reviewers suggested, I altered the recipe a bit. Used 1/2 all purpose and 1/2 whole wheat flour, splenda brown sugar (quantity cut in half as per the slenda directions) istead of regular brown sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla and 1tsp of cinnamon. Also added 1/4 cup of raisins and 1/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I baked it as one large loaf so it ended up taking about 80 minutes in the end. The end prodect was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I love this recipe, and have made it many times already! I made a few modifications based off the other reviews in order to make it even healthier. For the 2 cups of flour, I use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour. In place of 1/4 cup butter, I use 1/4 cup applesauce. I also reduce the sugar to 1/4-1/2 cup, depending on how sweet I want it. And I add in a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. I also use two 8x4 inch pans (since that's what I have), and it reduces the baking time to ~35 minutes. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Banana Bread is a long time family favorite...this healthier version satisfies cravings, and keeps us on our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this recipe into muffins! A little on the dry side but tasty none the same. I added some choc. chips to the batter, a tsp. of vanilla and about a quarter cup of molasses. I also made a light glaze out of powdered sugar and milk to put over the top. I will make these again. Great for Breakfast with a little Greek yogurt, walnuts and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States