Healthier Banana Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I just made this last night and my very picky husband said this was the best i ever made. I made a bit of an adjustment with the flour using 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat, I added walnuts, a sprinkle of cinnamon, a spash of vanilla and topped it with some oats, brown sugar and butter. So not as healthy but it was very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Best one yet! I have been perfecting this for over 8 years. I used homemade apple sauce in replacement of yogurt and baked less 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is delicious and not too sweet! I used half bananas and half applesauce. Yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Love this recipe, and how it is healthier. I baked it in a bunt pan for 30-35 minutes and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Really good, "slimmed down" recipe. Very easy and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Using this recipe I made an even lower calorie version substituting pureed pumkin for the butter/yogurt and an egg substitute for the whole eggs, and then mixed in 1/4 cup of chopped dates. It made a very dense, chewy, moist bread which is mildly sweet and surprisingly satisfying for not having any chocolate in it;) I'm sure it would have tasted even better w/the butter (let's face it, what doesn't taste better with butter?!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent banana bread recipe. The only thing I changed was to use non-fat vanilla yogurt because that was what I had. I started testing it after 50 minutes. It was perfect after 57 minutes in my oven. Very moist and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Tried this recipe for making muffins. Yummy and healthy. Lovely muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! Added fresh grated nutmeg (love the smell) and cinnamon to taste. Also a cup of toasted walnuts. Will make again. Splendid. Nice chewy texture, not dry and right amount of banana flavor. Also, for more nutrition I substituted one cup of quality whole wheat flour for white. To make mashing bananas easier, I use a potato masher. Also, I use a micro grater and buy whole nutmegs. They are easy to grate and it is such a difference in flavor and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtenay
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I altered the recipe after reading other reviews and it came out even healthier and still very yummy. I did half all purpose and half wheat flour. Instead of butter I used equal parts homemade apple sauce allrecipes.com/recipe/sarahs-applesauce/ (I omitted the sugar in the apple sauce recipe) I used 1/8 cup plain Greek yogurt and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup brown sugar. I only had 3 bananas which turned out to be 1 1/4 cup after mashing. I meant to add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla but forgot until just now and I threw in two palmfuls of craisins. I baked it for 55 minutes in a loaf pan and wish I had taken it out at 50 when I thought it was done. It was a touch over done but I will be making this again when I buy more bananas than we care to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States