Healthier Banana Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Courtenay
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I altered the recipe after reading other reviews and it came out even healthier and still very yummy. I did half all purpose and half wheat flour. Instead of butter I used equal parts homemade apple sauce allrecipes.com/recipe/sarahs-applesauce/ (I omitted the sugar in the apple sauce recipe) I used 1/8 cup plain Greek yogurt and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup brown sugar. I only had 3 bananas which turned out to be 1 1/4 cup after mashing. I meant to add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla but forgot until just now and I threw in two palmfuls of craisins. I baked it for 55 minutes in a loaf pan and wish I had taken it out at 50 when I thought it was done. It was a touch over done but I will be making this again when I buy more bananas than we care to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very tasty. I made 1/2 the recipe with two medium size bananas, and baked muffins. Only a 6-muffin tin would fit in our little toaster oven so there was some batter left over, but I believe the 1/2 recipe would have made 8 regular size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was really good. After 50 minutes though it was done, I add crushed walnuts and a little extra yogurt. Delicious. I like my banana bread more moist, not sure if it was me or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I love this recipe, and have made it many times already! I made a few modifications based off the other reviews in order to make it even healthier. For the 2 cups of flour, I use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour. In place of 1/4 cup butter, I use 1/4 cup applesauce. I also reduce the sugar to 1/4-1/2 cup, depending on how sweet I want it. And I add in a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. I also use two 8x4 inch pans (since that's what I have), and it reduces the baking time to ~35 minutes. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Using this recipe I made an even lower calorie version substituting pureed pumkin for the butter/yogurt and an egg substitute for the whole eggs, and then mixed in 1/4 cup of chopped dates. It made a very dense, chewy, moist bread which is mildly sweet and surprisingly satisfying for not having any chocolate in it;) I'm sure it would have tasted even better w/the butter (let's face it, what doesn't taste better with butter?!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I just made this last night and my very picky husband said this was the best i ever made. I made a bit of an adjustment with the flour using 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat, I added walnuts, a sprinkle of cinnamon, a spash of vanilla and topped it with some oats, brown sugar and butter. So not as healthy but it was very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
A simple, healthy recipe that doesn't require a trip to the co-op for ingredients. i reduced the brown sugar by a 1/4 cup and used cream cheese instead of yogurt. Didn't bother measuring out the banana, simply mashed 4. Made 8 mini-loafs 4x2", baked for 18 minutes. Fluffy, moist, no-guilt, extra banana, banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm not much for reviews, but this warrants one. I made this recipe tonight, with a few modifications due to allergies. This recipe ROCKS. Super moist, very tasty & an entire loaf is gone! I mixed 1 cup wheat with 1 cup all purpose 6 tbsp applesauce in lieu of eggs yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Made recipe pretty much as written. Only change was I used vanilla Greek yogurt. Bread was moist ( but in my husbands words not as moist as other quick breads i have made) and my husband liked it warm and cold( especially cold). I thought it needed more banana flavor but I may have had flavorless bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! Added fresh grated nutmeg (love the smell) and cinnamon to taste. Also a cup of toasted walnuts. Will make again. Splendid. Nice chewy texture, not dry and right amount of banana flavor. Also, for more nutrition I substituted one cup of quality whole wheat flour for white. To make mashing bananas easier, I use a potato masher. Also, I use a micro grater and buy whole nutmegs. They are easy to grate and it is such a difference in flavor and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States