Healthier Banana Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This recipe is very good, the bread was very tasty and moist, great texture. I don't think the cooking time is accurate when the oven is set to convection bake. I cooked my loaf for the suggested 65 mins and tested for done-ness with a wooden skewer which came out dry. After letting it cool and cutting into it, there was still some not quite cooked dough towards the top of the loaf. Next time I will increase the cook time to 75-80 minutes on the convection bake setting. Would rather it cook a little longer and become a little browner than have any uncooked dough. I also used a glass loaf pan which could have also been a factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made this banana bread this weekend and really like it. I added walnuts, substituted white whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour to add protein and a whole grain, and used greek yogurt. The bread is dense but really good. I think I will try a little more yogurt next time and chocolate chips and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Good recipe using the yogurt to make it moist. I added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Followed recipe to a t. GREAT bread. Was gone BEFORE supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I loved this banana bread more than my grandmother's recipe! Some alterations: I used 1/4 c yogurt instead of 1/8, had no brown sugar so I used only 1/2 c white instead, and also added about 1/4 c chopped walnuts. And without measuring, I just mashed up 4 bananas and the taste was perfect. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Definitely a repeat. Denser and not so sweet. Appreciate the use of plain yogart as a partial substitute for the butter. Again, good tasting bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cloverdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtenay
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I altered the recipe after reading other reviews and it came out even healthier and still very yummy. I did half all purpose and half wheat flour. Instead of butter I used equal parts homemade apple sauce allrecipes.com/recipe/sarahs-applesauce/ (I omitted the sugar in the apple sauce recipe) I used 1/8 cup plain Greek yogurt and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup brown sugar. I only had 3 bananas which turned out to be 1 1/4 cup after mashing. I meant to add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla but forgot until just now and I threw in two palmfuls of craisins. I baked it for 55 minutes in a loaf pan and wish I had taken it out at 50 when I thought it was done. It was a touch over done but I will be making this again when I buy more bananas than we care to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm not much for reviews, but this warrants one. I made this recipe tonight, with a few modifications due to allergies. This recipe ROCKS. Super moist, very tasty & an entire loaf is gone! I mixed 1 cup wheat with 1 cup all purpose 6 tbsp applesauce in lieu of eggs yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this last night exactly as directed. Overall, it was yummy. I appreciate the effort to make the recipe healthier. It wasn't overly sweet. I think next time I'll add some kind of spice, just a little to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! Added fresh grated nutmeg (love the smell) and cinnamon to taste. Also a cup of toasted walnuts. Will make again. Splendid. Nice chewy texture, not dry and right amount of banana flavor. Also, for more nutrition I substituted one cup of quality whole wheat flour for white. To make mashing bananas easier, I use a potato masher. Also, I use a micro grater and buy whole nutmegs. They are easy to grate and it is such a difference in flavor and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States