Healthier Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
A great re-make of one of my favorites. I didn't think that the 50 Calorie per serving difference between the original and this recipe was that significant. I used Whole Wheat Pasta, only 1 cup (8 oz) of sour cream, which I stirred into the pasta before layering. I used only 3 slices of Provolone cheese. These changes knock a few more calories off and the family didn't even notice. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is a great recipe that is customizable. I used vegetarian crumbles to make it meat-free, and added a thawed/drained box of frozen spinach. The provolone I thought I had turned out to be Havarti, didnt have mozzarella or sour cream, and in the interest of time and the spirit of creativity I substituted cheeses and just hoped for the best. Used the Havarti for the layer of provolone, considered yogurt but went with cottage cheese instead of cream, and used Colby instead of mozzarella. I started with sautéing onion and garlic to make the jarred sauce better, and left out the carrot. SO obviously I made a very different dish! But I layered and topped and baked as instructed and we had to stop ourselves from eating the entire pan. I plan to make this again using the same crazy cheese choices - maybe more cottage cheese this time, as it resembled ricotta. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious, very hearty. Added some mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
this was really good!!!! thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I increased the carrot amount to two large carrots and I also threw in some fresh minced garlic, one chopped fresh zucchini and a very large chopped red bell pepper to add in more color/vegetables. My whole family LOVED this dish--my littlest ate TWO helpings! This recipe is a keeper. NOTE: This rewarms well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Simply delicious! And to think this is a healthier version of an all time favorite makes it even better. This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I added some fresh minced garlic to the ground turkey and onion. And, to the sauce I added a little red wine and some Italian seasoning to give a bit of a flavor boost. The sour cream was a nice change from the usual ricotta cheese as well as the carrot. I just eyeballed everything when layering. I covered it and baked it a little longer than 30 minutes leaving it uncovered for the last 10 minutes. Great with a fresh garden salad and warm bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My 4 year old and 6 year old loved this (and my husband too) and asked for seconds! Some reviewers said that the carrots were a little too crunchy so I shredded mine instead of chopping them. Turned out great that way. Also I prepared this earlier in the day when the kids were at school and refrigerated it until it was time to bake. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My family truly loved this (I didn't even think it was that great but was very pleased everyone else did)...my picky 5-yo even said "mom...you know how to make just what I like" I think I may have shed a happy tear. I used all Colby cheese shredded and mixed all the layers together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My picky 3 year old wouldn't touch it but my fiance and I both loved it and thought it was super tasty! Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Loved this - I don't miss the beef at all, and I love that it's healthier and has carrots snuck in. I followed the recipe to the T with the addition of 1 more carrot since the one I had was small. Threw it in into my food processor to get grated carrots (since someone said their carrots weren't cooked through). I though this would be sweeter but it wasn't. I kept eyeballing the '2 jars of sauce' and wondering if it was all needed, but it was. I undercooked the ziti by 2 minutes and I'm glad that I did. This totally filled my 9x13 which made me happy. The only thing I would do differently next time is since I used provolone slices (that's what i had on hand and it kept the sauce from hitting the ziti), I would switch up the order and put the pasta, sauce, then provolone. Used Barilla Mushroom which tasted great and added another veggie in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States