Healthier Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I never review recipes but I couldn't let this one go without. I had a crazy amount of apples from my nanas trees and was apple buttered right to death so I decided to switch it up for this apple crisp. I made a pan for both my mother and mother in law (who is an amazing cook) and my mother in law lost her mind when she tasted it. Its all she could talk about all day. I used brown sugar instead of white and doubled the cinnamon. Hands down best apple crisp ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
We loved this!!! I didn't have whole wheat flour or walnuts, so I improvised with regular flour and pecans. It was wonderful!!!!!!! Definitely going to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I thought this applecrisp was delicious, can't even tell it's healthier. I even substituted two tablespoons of the butter with water and it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Wonderful! The only substitution I made was pecans vs walnuts and doubled the cinnamon based on other reviews. I also lightened it up just a little bit more by using the brown sugar splenda and the domino light sugar. I also used a hint of lemon juice. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Oh wow! Best apple crisp ever! I made it as written first time and it was good, but the second time, it was even better when I made these changes: I omitted the white sugar and subbed in brown sugar, doubled the cinnamon, added some ginger (a healthy dash) and some nutmeg (a regular dash). I also omitted the water, it was not necessary and my second batch without the water was a much, much better consistency. (The apples are juicy and release that juice when baked, so go ahead and skip adding that water.) Oh, and in both batches, I used old-fashioned oats, not the quick cooking kind and I subbed corn starch for the flour in the filling, something I always do for fruit pies, cobblers, etc... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Smells delicious, like apple pie! Made 2 pans for healthy potlucks @ husband's & my work. Used 10 large honeycrisp apples, 5. lbs, from local farmer, for each 9 x 13 recipe. It will fill the pan (with a rounded top like a cake), so press the topping on with a large spoon and put the pan on a foil-lined cookie sheet. Followed others' suggestions & added some of my own. Use apple corer/peeler, all brown sugar, all whole wheat fllour, old fashioned oats, 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. cloves, & 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. Stir 2 tsp. vanilla extract into melted butter. Wondered whether initial sugar/flour/water mixture would blend in better if it were stirred into apples rather than sprinkled on top. Next time (and there definitely will be a next time!) I would either omit water or add cornstarch or tapioca to water, since it was rather watery. Apples did not get mushy. Tasted great & husband's co-workers ate the entire pan! We were very busy & only had time for 1/2 a pan! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was a GREAT recipe! I added fresh blueberries and chia seeds for more of the "good stuff". Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I confess, I’ll always be partial to my Aunt Audrey’s apple crisp, but this was very nice for a change. We served it warm with vanilla ice cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Loved the recipe! HOwever, I guessed on 10 cups of apples.... How many apples is that? I also think that with a good mix of apples, you can still cut back on the sugar. I also only used 1/4 cup of butter, and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVORY
Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Delicious. Served it warm with light vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States