Healthier Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I cut the white sugar back to 1/4 cup and used apple juice in place of the water. I also substituted coconut oil for 1/2 of the butter in the topping. You still get the butter taste. I also added a dash of nutmeg. I will make this as often as I can! Everyone loved it and it was just sweet enough with a really good apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Was really good but needs more apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
... I used pure via in place of white sugar... Bad idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
A keeper, we'll make again. We used 4 varieties of apples, sweet to tart, red & green, skin on. Opted for big chunks rather than uniform slices. Smaller casserole dish, filled to the top with apples, used recommended amount of topping. Based on comments: we mixed apples with flour/spice mix prior to putting in casserole, skipped water, cut sugar to 1/4 cup, replaced white with brown sugar. Doubled cinnamon, added powdered ginger and fresh grated nutmeg (not measured, but at least 1.5 tsp)Added vanilla (might add some bourbon next time) to flour/spice mix, and to butter/oat mix. Whole wheat pastry flour, and brown sugar instead of white. Melted butter, but plan to try mixes of butter/olive oil and/or coconut oil in the future. Instead of ice cream or whipped topping, we opted for low fat, plain yogurt drizzled on top, may add a trace of honey, molasses or maple syrup next time .. not necessary, but could be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Good recipe! Per other reviews, used brown sugar exclusively, doubled the cinnamon and added only half the water. Used a food processor for the crumb mixture using cold butter. No melting required! Made this with added craisins and with fresh cranberries for something different. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
We loved it! Got a bag of apples at a great price at a local orchard at the end of the season. Also read all of the reviews and doubled the cinnamon, replaced the butter with coconut oil, and when I noticed that after 45 minutes the dish was still watery, but nice and browned on top, I stirred it all together. Over, and over again every 10 minutes several times. Eventually, it came together very moist, and the apples still held their shape. The skins stayed on the apple slices, as well. Next time I'll just stir every twenty minutes starting at about 30 minutes. It was not crisp this way, but not watery either. I will also reduce the sugar, I think it will still be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Oh wow! Best apple crisp ever! I made it as written first time and it was good, but the second time, it was even better when I made these changes: I omitted the white sugar and subbed in brown sugar, doubled the cinnamon, added some ginger (a healthy dash) and some nutmeg (a regular dash). I also omitted the water, it was not necessary and my second batch without the water was a much, much better consistency. (The apples are juicy and release that juice when baked, so go ahead and skip adding that water.) Oh, and in both batches, I used old-fashioned oats, not the quick cooking kind and I subbed corn starch for the flour in the filling, something I always do for fruit pies, cobblers, etc... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very good! As other reviewers suggested I used 2 tsp of cinnamon, 1tsp of ground cloves, and 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg. It was wonderful and perfect as a Fall dessert .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Loved the recipe! HOwever, I guessed on 10 cups of apples.... How many apples is that? I also think that with a good mix of apples, you can still cut back on the sugar. I also only used 1/4 cup of butter, and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVORY
Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Smells delicious, like apple pie! Made 2 pans for healthy potlucks @ husband's & my work. Used 10 large honeycrisp apples, 5. lbs, from local farmer, for each 9 x 13 recipe. It will fill the pan (with a rounded top like a cake), so press the topping on with a large spoon and put the pan on a foil-lined cookie sheet. Followed others' suggestions & added some of my own. Use apple corer/peeler, all brown sugar, all whole wheat fllour, old fashioned oats, 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. cloves, & 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. Stir 2 tsp. vanilla extract into melted butter. Wondered whether initial sugar/flour/water mixture would blend in better if it were stirred into apples rather than sprinkled on top. Next time (and there definitely will be a next time!) I would either omit water or add cornstarch or tapioca to water, since it was rather watery. Apples did not get mushy. Tasted great & husband's co-workers ate the entire pan! We were very busy & only had time for 1/2 a pan! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ephraim, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States