Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
A healthy, hearty, filling and cheap soup. Just what I was looking for. The directions couldn't be easier, nor could the ingredients be more simple-- all that and it even tastes good. I made a double batch and had it for lunch at work every day this week, and I'm still not tired of it. The reviewer who suggested Parmesan cheese was right on. When I first made the soup, I served it for dinner with a crusty French baguette that I cut into slices, basted with olive oil and garlic powder, sprinkled with a Parmesan/Romano mix and then toasted under the broiler. I also garnished my soup with some of the cheese mixture, which was great. I made my soup pretty spicy by adding some Cayenne and a good amount of fresh ground black pepper. My nose runs every time I eat it, so I'm sure this would be perfect for healing a cold. I ate it in perfect health and on the hottest day of the year, though! I think it's tasty anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
So simple and delicious. Didn't have Italian stewed tomatoes, so used regular diced tomatoes and added Italian seasoning. Family loved, even the little ones and my husband said he hated cabbage until I made this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is an excellent recipe for a very filling, low fat and low calorie soup that tastes great. I added a little more bouillon and instead of itialian style tomatoes I used tomatoes with peppers and added a some ground chili pepper for a little zing. I can't imagine anyone that likes cabbage and beef flavor not liking this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Country

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verbena, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Really delicious soup! I added corn to the soup to give it a little more bulk. Also, to make it a little thicker, I took about half of the soup, put it in the blender, pureed it, and added it back to the stock pot. This really helped with the texture. I also let it simmer, uncovered, for about 2 hours to thicken it up as well. Overall, it was very tasty and cheap to make too, which was great for a starving college student.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is very similar to a recipe I use. I use a little less broth and add a pinch of Italian seasoning and cayenne and I top it with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. I also use coleslaw mix to avoid all the shredding. This is a good filling and low calorie soup with plenty of fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I was skeptical about making this being my first cabbage soup and having one review, alas, it was Delicious!! My dd loved it!! Not to mention dh said it was delish and it eased my cold too. Thanks for the recipe keep those 5*'s coming!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Great soup. I've made it twice now and my husband just requested it again. Even my picky three year old will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
So easy, and really, really good! Even my pickiest child and my meat-and-potato lovers loved it. The only changes I made were to not drain the tomatoes, add a pound of frozen green beans with the onions, and throw in a bit of leftover turkey. Best vegetable soup recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I LOVED this recipe. It's one I'll be making again soon. I used more like a full head of cabbage, and since I didn't have Italian tomatoes, I used plain and added Italian seasonin as some other users had suggested. I also added some Red Pepper as another user suggested to give it a little more kick. The entire pot was gone in about two meals time! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is sooo soothing and good! I am pregnant with a big head cold, so this is the medicine for me. I can't tell you how much it made me feel better :o) I used real chicken broth (instead of cubes) and added a pinch of cayenne and red pepper flakes (to clear my sinuses!) Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States