Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by NMCookie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband just happens to be down with a cold this morning and I was looking for a soup recipe that wasn't the standard chicken noodle, since he's not too keen on chicken. I'm so glad I found this recipe! We love cabbage and since it's the day after St. Patrick's day, I had some on hand. After all, soup is about using what you have in your fridge and pantry. I wanted to fill this soup with as much nutrition as possible, so in addition to cabbage, I added a few handfuls of chopped kale, chopped carrot, oregano, thyme (which is excellent for respiratory issues), took the advice of other reviewers and added a dash of cayenne and some red pepper flakes. Since they have great healing properties I increased the onion and garlic. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes, so I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead. Toward the end of cooking I threw in a small amount of elbow noodles that needed to be used up and for protein, added dark red kidney beans. I cooked it all in low sodium (from Trader Joe's) organic chicken broth and then added some more water and Better Than Bouillon Organic Chicken Base. It tastes amazing and I expect it to be even better tomorrow. Thanks, JGCase, for a great cabbage soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Since St Patricks Day is tomorrow, my market had cabbage on sale for 19 cents a head. I didn't have the tomatoes, but I had a can or organic tomato soup. Added a couple of pinches of cayenne pepper, a sprinkle of soy sauce, a splash of apple cider vinegar and a can of black beans. Best soup I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyDaisyDuke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I didn't read the directions correctly--only added 1 quart of water. DIDN'T MISS the other quart. I threw in 4 carrots because I needed to use 'em up. Other than that I stuck to the rest of the recipe. YUMMERZ! Think I'll add corned beef next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Pretty good base recipe. I am giving it a 4 because I did 'zuzzh' it up! I used homemade chicken broth, added 1 tsp. hot sauce, a 1/2 tsp. cumin, few dashes of chili powder, 1 tsp. celery seed, chopped baby carrots, handful of rice, and kidney beans for protein. After all my additions, this is an excellent soup! It's very hearty for vegetarian style, but some ground beef added would be good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I'm trying to save it with loads and loads of chili powder, cumin, paprika and pepper. It is like a bowl of yucky warm water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Good and healthy. I had a hard time trying to get the cabbage and tomatoes to the consistency. I ended up taking them out of the soup and putting them in the blender to dice them really thin them put it back into the soup. Great filler and healthy so you don't feel bad about eating it severely times a day. Will make it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This is a great base to start with or eat as is. I have added shredded carrots and once I used vegetable broth instead of bouillon for my husband. I think I'll make this tonight and add mushrooms!! P.S I tried it with mushrooms, and it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This soup exceeded my expectations. Very simple to make and delicious just as it is, but you could always add meat and other vegetables. I didn't have the Italian stewed tomatoes and substituted a can of diced tomatoes with onions and green peppers and it was delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrendaLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This soup is amazing! I did make my own changes and it is delicious. I used a whole onion, low sodium chicken chicken broth instead of bullion, chopped carrots, celery, and red potatoes. I also added cayenne, garlic salt, and seasonings. This is one of our new favorites! The longer it sits the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Have made this multiple times as is, and some more times with some "tweaks". Absolutely delicious as is, but I like to put the garlic in with the tomatoes to give the soup more garlic flavor. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States