Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I really like this soup. I felt like it needed to be a little heartier, so I used veggie stock in place of the bouillon. I also added celery and spinach. Will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Love this recipe... added a good sausage, dice in bite size chunks. Great winter soup with crusty sourdough bread/butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Awesome! Easy to make and great for a cold. I used extra garlic, a full onion, and two boxes of chicken stock since I don't have bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
wow! quick, cheap, easy & freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Better than chicken soup! So simple, so tasty and so easy to make. This recipe is fantastic as is, without any alterations. That said, the small changes we like to make are upping the pepper a bit; throwing an egg in the next-day leftovers to give the soup a bit more protein and heft; add cooked rice. Adding the juices from the canned Italian spice tomatoes gives the soup a great taste, too. And by the way, it does not freeze well. We found that out the hard way! Regardless, this is our go-to soup in the winter whenever one of us is feeling the chill or just a little under the weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I loved this receipe, the only change I made was adding whole peeled tomatoes. Next time I am going to use both red and white cabbage. Thanks for posting. We loved it! PS I hate tomatoes, hence using whole tomatoes, but I will admit, the tomatoes gave the broth so much flavor...and I could enjoy the soup without having to eat the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Excellent! One of the best vegetable soups I've tasted! I also cut up some baby carrots and a stalk of celery, adding some red pepper flakes as others suggested. I used a whole head of cabbage (a fairly large head) and used canned drained diced tomatoes (since I didn't have stewed Italian style), adding some Italian seasonings for flavor. I also cut back the oil to 1 T. (which was enough), cut back the salt to 1/2 t. (also enough, with the saltiness of the bouillon), and used bouillon cubes and water as written. Delicious, especially served with parmesan cheese! Since we used a large head of cabbage, it made more than 8 servings, which we were very happy about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is really, really good. And we're not big cabbage lovers! I made this because I had a quarter of a head of cabbage left over from making slaw that needed to be used up before it went bad. I made the recipe as written but also added some things: about 1/2 a large carrot (shredded), 1 can of drained and rinsed light red kidney beans, 1/2 cup white wine (replacing 1/2 cup of the amount of water recommended), a generous squirt of sriracha, and some diced and pan fried beer brats. It is so good! My husband, who is neither a soup or veggie lover, gave it the thumbs up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Afton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Awesome! I always add about 1 heaping tablespoon cornstarch dissolved in cool liquid to my soups; which smooths out the flavours and adds to their eye appeal. Oh, and with this particular recipe, I threw in a package of chicken noodle soup mix just because it had been hanging around in my cupboard waiting for some action. Worked great. Need I say this is now a pillar of my cooking repetoire?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I added carrots and mushrooms plus chicken broth in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States