Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The best cabbage soup and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very satisfying. I used savoy cabbage and added about 2 TBS lemon juice. I may add chick peas on occasion to make it heartier. This, with some crusty bread for dipping, will be a staple in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JaclynPicone
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I used this recipe and added chopped zucchini, Italian seasoning, garlic salt, and carrots for extra flavors and I am enjoying it as we speak!) fabulous and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
A lovely soothing soup that is very easy to make. I added sausage to mine and thought it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Once you make a few minor adjustments this soup will become a staple. I highly recommend, as others suggested, using chicken broth and no water. I used some leftover broth I had and five cups water so to give it a broth flavor I ended up adding in 4 tbsp. of chicken bouillon. Adding in a pinch of cayenne pepper also gives it a boost of flavor. When adding in the onion I also included red potatoes, frozen corn, green bell pepper, and fresh parsley and crumbled up some fried bacon once it came to the step of adding in the canned tomatoes. Bake some sweet cornbread alongside in the oven and it's sure to please. Hope this helps ya’ll, enjoy and happy stewing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I did add other veggies like celery and carrots. I also added a can of northern beans. I don't think it mattered because the broth is the star in this. It isn't a thick soup but it is wonderful. The only suggestion I have is wait to add the salt, you may not need it. Thank you for this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Can easily see why this is the creator's go-to soup for days you don't feel well. It's the next best thing to chicken noodle, and just awesome for tummy troubles! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Very good! I did customize it. I added a bottle of beer after sautéing the veggies, cooked off the alcohol, this added a savory richness. Doubled the veggies and added a thinly sliced a carrot and a celery stalk because I had them. The head of cabbage I bought wasn't that big, so I used it all. I used vegetable broth and puréed the stewed tomatoes. Finally, I added red pepper flakes. I think I followed it fairly closely, only making it thicker with veggies and a bit spicy. I usually add a beer to broth soups so that I don't have to salt it. You can't taste beer at all. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I am a major fan of cabbage not only for its healthy qualities but its wonderful flavor (if you know how to cook it!). I NEVER use bouillon. I first boiled the 2 quarts of water with chicken bones that I keep in the freezer (about 2 good handfuls of chicken bones, it makes this healing soup even MORE healing due to using a bone broth! im sure you could always just boil some bone in chicken like if you were going to make chicken soup) then i sauteed carrots, onions, celery and garlic. Then i made the recipe as written. DE-LISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal LuAnn Tate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I really like this soup. I felt like it needed to be a little heartier, so I used veggie stock in place of the bouillon. I also added celery and spinach. Will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States