Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Very very good and easy to make. Made this when I was sick and it was really helpful. I love cabbage and used a roasted spicy tomatoes and it gave it a slight kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Great as is and also as a base for other soups. You can vary it a zillion ways. Try using dropping in some cooked frozen meatballs. Try using Mexican stewed tomatoes, a combo of beef and chicken broth and add some chicken, corn, green pepper, and diced green chilies; pour over tortilla chips & sprinkle with cheese. Try adding a tall jar of turkey gravy to change the consistency. Try adding a potato or two. Thanks for perking up my imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
WOW!!! I had some leftover cabbage from cabbage rolls and made this instead of throwing it out like I often do... this recipe is a permanent new addition to my cabbage roll nights! The cabbage was frozen (for cabbage rolls) but I thought it worked very well for the soup. I just eyed out the amount of pepper and I may have added more than called for but I found the pepper overwhelmed the soup a bit so I will cut back next time (my boyfriend disagreed but he loves peppery food) So delicious and healthy/guilt free to eat. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this tonight. Didn't have the onion so I used onion flakes. Also added carrots and celery like the old awesome weight loss soup recipe. It turned out just perfect. My boyfriend and I decided we wouldn't change a thing. The broth was awesome by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOODCOOKERMOM
Home Town: Clarksdale, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Everyone in my family loves this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was honestly hesitant about this soup. It seemed really basic and I figured it wouldn't be all that great. I WAS WRONG! This soup turned out really delicious! It was a great way to use up the cabbage in my fridge. I added an extra teaspoon of garlic, celery, and carrots, all of which I sauteed in the beginning with the onions. I also added about 2 tsp. of Italian seasoning and an extra tsp of black pepper. YUMMY! This is great since it is all veggies, it worked out great for my Weight Watchers points!! WOO HOO! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Loved this soup! I made some of the changes suggested by other reviewers so my recipe looked more like this: 2 Tbsp. olive oil; 1 onion, chopped; 2 cloves garlic, chopped; 48 oz. organic low-sodium chicken broth; 1 tsp. salt; 1 tsp. pepper; 3/4 large head of cabbage, cored and coarsely chopped; 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes with liquid; water to cover contents. Delicious reheated as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Great as is. Simple, low effort to make this while cooking up your main dish at the same time. Good flavor. Low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMCookie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband just happens to be down with a cold this morning and I was looking for a soup recipe that wasn't the standard chicken noodle, since he's not too keen on chicken. I'm so glad I found this recipe! We love cabbage and since it's the day after St. Patrick's day, I had some on hand. After all, soup is about using what you have in your fridge and pantry. I wanted to fill this soup with as much nutrition as possible, so in addition to cabbage, I added a few handfuls of chopped kale, chopped carrot, oregano, thyme (which is excellent for respiratory issues), took the advice of other reviewers and added a dash of cayenne and some red pepper flakes. Since they have great healing properties I increased the onion and garlic. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes, so I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead. Toward the end of cooking I threw in a small amount of elbow noodles that needed to be used up and for protein, added dark red kidney beans. I cooked it all in low sodium (from Trader Joe's) organic chicken broth and then added some more water and Better Than Bouillon Organic Chicken Base. It tastes amazing and I expect it to be even better tomorrow. Thanks, JGCase, for a great cabbage soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Since St Patricks Day is tomorrow, my market had cabbage on sale for 19 cents a head. I didn't have the tomatoes, but I had a can or organic tomato soup. Added a couple of pinches of cayenne pepper, a sprinkle of soy sauce, a splash of apple cider vinegar and a can of black beans. Best soup I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyDaisyDuke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States