Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Everyone in my family loves this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was honestly hesitant about this soup. It seemed really basic and I figured it wouldn't be all that great. I WAS WRONG! This soup turned out really delicious! It was a great way to use up the cabbage in my fridge. I added an extra teaspoon of garlic, celery, and carrots, all of which I sauteed in the beginning with the onions. I also added about 2 tsp. of Italian seasoning and an extra tsp of black pepper. YUMMY! This is great since it is all veggies, it worked out great for my Weight Watchers points!! WOO HOO! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Loved this soup! I made some of the changes suggested by other reviewers so my recipe looked more like this: 2 Tbsp. olive oil; 1 onion, chopped; 2 cloves garlic, chopped; 48 oz. organic low-sodium chicken broth; 1 tsp. salt; 1 tsp. pepper; 3/4 large head of cabbage, cored and coarsely chopped; 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes with liquid; water to cover contents. Delicious reheated as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Great as is. Simple, low effort to make this while cooking up your main dish at the same time. Good flavor. Low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMCookie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband just happens to be down with a cold this morning and I was looking for a soup recipe that wasn't the standard chicken noodle, since he's not too keen on chicken. I'm so glad I found this recipe! We love cabbage and since it's the day after St. Patrick's day, I had some on hand. After all, soup is about using what you have in your fridge and pantry. I wanted to fill this soup with as much nutrition as possible, so in addition to cabbage, I added a few handfuls of chopped kale, chopped carrot, oregano, thyme (which is excellent for respiratory issues), took the advice of other reviewers and added a dash of cayenne and some red pepper flakes. Since they have great healing properties I increased the onion and garlic. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes, so I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead. Toward the end of cooking I threw in a small amount of elbow noodles that needed to be used up and for protein, added dark red kidney beans. I cooked it all in low sodium (from Trader Joe's) organic chicken broth and then added some more water and Better Than Bouillon Organic Chicken Base. It tastes amazing and I expect it to be even better tomorrow. Thanks, JGCase, for a great cabbage soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Since St Patricks Day is tomorrow, my market had cabbage on sale for 19 cents a head. I didn't have the tomatoes, but I had a can or organic tomato soup. Added a couple of pinches of cayenne pepper, a sprinkle of soy sauce, a splash of apple cider vinegar and a can of black beans. Best soup I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyDaisyDuke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I didn't read the directions correctly--only added 1 quart of water. DIDN'T MISS the other quart. I threw in 4 carrots because I needed to use 'em up. Other than that I stuck to the rest of the recipe. YUMMERZ! Think I'll add corned beef next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Pretty good base recipe. I am giving it a 4 because I did 'zuzzh' it up! I used homemade chicken broth, added 1 tsp. hot sauce, a 1/2 tsp. cumin, few dashes of chili powder, 1 tsp. celery seed, chopped baby carrots, handful of rice, and kidney beans for protein. After all my additions, this is an excellent soup! It's very hearty for vegetarian style, but some ground beef added would be good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I'm trying to save it with loads and loads of chili powder, cumin, paprika and pepper. It is like a bowl of yucky warm water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Good and healthy. I had a hard time trying to get the cabbage and tomatoes to the consistency. I ended up taking them out of the soup and putting them in the blender to dice them really thin them put it back into the soup. Great filler and healthy so you don't feel bad about eating it severely times a day. Will make it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States