Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was tasty-great for a cold night. I don't use bouillon, so I used 2 cups chicken broth, 2 cups vegetable broth, & 4 cups water ;) I misread the recipe and added plain diced tomatoes by mistake, but countered it by adding 1 tsp Italian seasoning (1/2 with the salt & pepper, 1/2 with the tomatoes). The flavor was great, especially with a little Parmesan a baguette. But it's not filling enough for a full meal-I calculated that 2 cups is only 160 calories :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I added carrots to this recipe as well as a few more spices. I make this in a HUGE pot and freeze the leftovers for lunches for a month - I never get tired of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GemCourtJD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Couldn't keep the family out of the soup pot. This was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Just tweaked a little, this is the perfect, easy soup! We add carrots in our house - they are best put in the pot right in the beginning and sweated to release the sugars - then just go on as the recipe says. Quick, simple, and incredibly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
very good & very easy!! I did add the red pepper flakes and I cooked 3 boneless pork chops right in with everything else. So Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
So simple and delicious. Thanks,JGCase for sharing this wonderful recipe. I follow the directions exactly with the only exception of not draining the tomatoes before adding to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was a great recipe for cabbage soup. I don't use chicken bouillon or broth, so instead I use my own homemade lobster stock. I did also add some carrot, celery, green and yellow onion, four cloves garlic rather than two, red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper and Mexican-style stewed tomatoes since that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I like this soup but did add some embellishments like cayenne, tumeric, (anti-inflammatories) to the soup along with some kale from my garden and sliced olives at the end to garnish. I don't worry about cutting olive oil as its good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This soup is wonderful! I did add red pepper flakes for an extra added kick as well as Italian seasoning. WOW This soup is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This soup is awesome...thanks for sharing. I used low sodium chicken broth, 1/2 head cabbage, sliced carrots and a few shakes of hot peppers. YUMMO! Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANGOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States