Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yummy! This was the perfect meal for a cold winter day. Fast, easy, filling, and very tasty. Will become a common recipe here, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chawk
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Thank you for this recipe! I followed it exactly and then added zucchini, chicken and shredded carrots just because I had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
simple made as is except no water just tomatoes (frozen)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This recipe is delicious. I made a few changes. I did not drain the tomatoes I diced them up and added the tomatoes as well as the juice to the soup. Other than that, the recipe is delicious! I make it once a week now because both my family and my boyfriends family love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy P.
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I've made this 3 times and love it. My husband even went back for 2nds even though there is no meat! I altered it by adding carrots & celery w/ the onion and added 6 stems of kale to the mix when the cabbage was added. I also added cannellini beans with the tomatoes. I used low sodium chicken broth but it needed a kick so I added a little seasoned salt w/ some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe was very easy to fallow but it needed more umph. I used 2 carrots thinly sliced along with the onion and garlic. Then I added 1/2 pound ground beef to my saute and made sure not to over cook the beef. Then added the water but cut the chicken bouillon amount in half and substituted the other half with beef boullion. Then instead of only letting it cook 30 min. I let it cook for 1 hour. It turned out great and was very filling. I think the next time I make it I will add half head broccali and a quarter head coliflower just for the health benefits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is one of the easiest soups to make and it's one of my favorites. It's very tangy and fresh tasting. The veggies are not mushy as long as you don't overcook. I stop cooking when they are still nice and firm with just a little "bite" to them. I think you have to like Bloody Marys, tomato juice or V8 to enjoy this soup because it does have a lot of zing from the tomatoes and other veggies, but if you are a huge fan like me you will love it. As with any recipe here, only add salt to taste. I never trust another person's salt threshold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried this today and I loved it. I changed it up a bit by adding more garlic, onions, and tomatoes, and I added cauliflower. I also only used 1 tbsp of olive oil instead of 3 and plain diced tomatoes, and I used organic chicken bouillon cubes but I doubt that makes a difference. I'm sure the original recipe tastes great too. My recipe came out to only 39 calories/cup. Very low calorie if your looking for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Hubs has been asking me to make a low carb, low calorie veggie soup that he can “snack” on. I made this using chicken broth instead of the water/bouillon and a 1 pound package of pre-shredded cabbage. I didn't drain the tomatoes and used diced tomatoes flavored with garlic, basil and oregano. To bulk up the veggies, I also added one cup of each chopped carrots and celery. I only used about 1 T. of oil to sauté the veggies and added the garlic for the last minute. After that I followed the recipe. This turned out to be very flavorful and just what Hubs was after. So five stars from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States