Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
YUMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Love this recipe. I try to made it monthly. For my husband I will add shredded chicken (leftover rotisserie works great) or browned ground beef but it is excellent as is for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I admittedly changed a few things and thus didn't try the original recipe. However what I ended up with was much enjoyed. I used two quarts of organic chicken stock instead of the water and bouillon. I had a small head of cabbage and I just used the whole thing. I added sliced carrots as well as their greens and dandelion greens as well. The bitter greens worked really well in this soup. I also added four links of organic kielbasa which delivered a magnificent spice to the broth. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I am sure this soup is perfect the way it is, but I used it as a base for a bigger soup. Added a jalapeno for the flavor, carrot, potato, celery, zucchini, red and green bell pepper. Used chicken broth instead of water. Along with salt and pepper, added some red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, and a little bit of chardonnay for flavor. Turned out to be delicious!!! Wife and Father loved it, I loved it. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I added a 1/2 cup of brown rice. I also used pre-shredded cabbage since that's all Trader Joe's had! It worked and it was very delicious, but I want to use big chunks of cabbage next time. I love it when I get that earthy cabbage taste- but you need it in big chunks to get that I think.. I also used like 8 cloves of garlic because I love garlic. Yummy!!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've never made cabbage soup before. It was my son's idea to make cabbage soup. And since he doesn't eat many veggies, we had to make it! I made it as it was written. Except he wanted to add some carrots and green beans and I had some fresh mushrooms to use up. It was SO good. My son ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I added a tablespoon of cider vinegar, sprinkle of red chile flakes, diced carrots and some breakfast left over bacon. I am fighting a head cold and this really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was great! And so simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I thought the soup was delicious, but only after I altered it a bit. Even though I used 28 oz herbed & spiced diced tomatoes (with the juice) I still found the soup bland. So I added onion powder, chili powder, crushed red chili peppers, italian seasoning and more chicken bouillon powder. Only then did I find it tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Excellent. Added leftover veggies (peas, limas), and kielbasa and 1/2 pound of hamburger. Also some additional spices as others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gdrescher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States